Jay's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 2 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jay’s full profile.


  • 33 references 14 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 37, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • Scientist @ US Environmental Protection Agency
  • University of Puget Sound - Tulane University
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Environmental protection and public health: Improve water quality around the world and increase access to fresh clean water.


My hobbies include cooking, pickling, baking, fermenting, skiing, backpacking/trekking, rock climbing, and many more activities.

I currently work for the USEPA. Additionally, I give my time to Rotary International in our community and as an international project coordinator.

Previously, I have worked at U.S. Geological Survey as a supervisor for a research laboratory in Boulder, CO and helped run three laboratories focused on research in water, on the Great Lakes out of Chicago, on protecting waters with tribes throughout the southwest, on oil spill and community support and advocacy around refineries in Louisiana, and even at Apple, Inc. I have many past professional pursuits that we might talk about. Some of my research includes live antibiotic precursor research, wetland reclamation in New Orleans, drinking water systems in Tajikistan, among several other topics in geographic environmental health .

I don’t drink, smoke, do any drugs, and am very physically active.


We are all panels from the same quilt. Each of us is unique and has a place but are part of a whole greater than ourselves.

When I host or stay with you, I hope to learn about your life and if you like, show you mine. I was raised not to tolerate bigotry. To promote acceptance for coexistence, I will ask you about your beliefs rather than accuse you of unfair bias.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I hosted for several years with most of my surfers occurring during two of the years I lived in New Orleans. I have surfed during road trips through the United States and during international travel. I hope to host again soon at our house in Denver. We are working on getting it set up for guests. I can give advice and often have the ability to host in an emergency situation.


How many times have you gone to a parade, listened to live music, hosted a waffle party and Thanksgiving, and stayed up all night with the people you host? New Orleans was that type of place for Couch Surfing.

Recently in Chicago, I have been lucky to meet so many surfers at events and in Denver we hope to host again in our home! We will have weekday options in private rooms!


Health, technology, travel, cooking, skiing, mountaineering, hiking, rock climbing, and water conservation.

  • cooking
  • baking
  • board games
  • reading
  • traveling
  • cycling
  • backpacking
  • kayaking
  • mountaineering
  • skiing
  • rock climbing
  • road trips
  • eating
  • mountain biking

Music, Movies, and Books

One Hundred Years of Solitude is one of my all time favorites. I enjoy most music and most movies. I typically split my reading 50-50 between fiction and non fiction. I love recommendations! Tell me about anything from Autobiographies to Technical Manuals (and everything in between!)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Ask me about Lady Eliot Island in the Great Barrier Reef!

Teach, Learn, Share

I would love to take you skiing, rock climbing, mountain climbing, or backpacking. I can teach sourdough bread making, pickling, canning, and fermenting (sourkraut, kombucha, pickles, kefir, etc).

What I Can Share with Hosts

I usually bring a trinket, a story, and a meal on my visits. I rarely stay for long but hopefully leave an impact!

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Australia, Belize, Bolivia, Canada, Chile, Costa Rica, Ecuador, France, French Polynesia, Guatemala, Honduras, Iceland, India, Japan, Mexico, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Panama, Serbia, Singapore, South Korea, Spain, Switzerland, Tajikistan, Thailand, Turkey, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Tajikistan, United States

Old School Badges

  • 1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Jay’s full profile.

My Groups