Julie T's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login 11 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Julie’s full profile.

Overview

  • 29 references 16 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Vietnamese
  • 57, Female
  • Member since 2013
  • travelling nurse....semi-retired
  • bsn
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To share cultures and lifestyles with people from all over the country and the world. To learn and grow, make friends, and help my guests have the best vacation they can!

ABOUT ME

semi-retired...married to another nurse, adult son who is married(yay!),I love my 5 dogs, 4 cats, kid (not in that order)and hubby. I like to make costumes, and sometimes even sell them...I like to travel, but haven't gone anywhere since 1999 (Japan)...and live vicariously thru others stories.

PHILOSOPHY
PLEASE READ BEFORE YOU REQUEST!!
I feel that Couchsurfing is awesome....with friends! I am usually booked full, a month(or more) ahead. I can NOT host "last minute"(two weeks or less)-- if you are planning a trip (a month or so...) in advance, please send a request early, and we can "chat" and get to know each other. if arriving with another person, i'd like to hear from them as well. I host to meet people that I think are interesting.... people I would want to make friends with...people I would invite BACK to my home again and again....I'm hoping to MAKE a new friend, who maybe would stay with me, NOT a stranger trying to re-locate, or looking for a free place to "crash"! I don't give copies of my keys, and although I stay up late, I dont want people coming in at all hours-this is a home-not a hotel.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Hosting.....

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

in my 20's I traveled around Europe, met new people and couch surfed back in the day.......before it was "couchsurfing" it was just a way to meet people and hang out with new friends and discover new cultures....I once spent 3 months in the Netherlands, milking goats and "couchsurfing" on a boat in the canal! I host to "pay back" and ask that my guests "pay it forward" when they can.....

Interests

make costumes...arts and crafts stuff...love to search out new restaurants/foods...new places to go...reading fiction, classics, modern, horror, romance, etc...it doesn't matter-I'll read the back of the cereal box for fun! Movies...Action, Drama, not a fan of "true-life" unless its a survival story line...I am an Atheist, and irritated by "God this...and God that..." although, If asked to choose a religion (as if I didn't have a choice) I'd choose Buddhism... it's pretty awesome for its beliefs. And I'm a Feminist....So is my Husband-he works as a Nurse, and is bothered by Gender inequality! but just like religion, we don't ask, don't tell.... and we both believe that all life is precious-we rescued all our animals-and love then like our children! oh...we love our son too!

Music, Movies, and Books

I watch almost every movie that comes to the theaters...at least the ones that sound good....and I will read almost anything! Not a fan of non-fiction, unless its survival stories....but History can be cool-as long as it is accurate (as much as they can make it-with no bias...)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Burning Man in 2014.....and skydying for my birthday-(ok, thats two.....but they were VERY awesome!)

Teach, Learn, Share

I don't think I can teach anything....but I'll do my best to share what I know about my city, and places to go/things to do!

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, France, Germany, Greece, Hong Kong, Italy, Japan, Mexico, Netherlands, Spain, Taiwan, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

France, Japan, Netherlands, United States, Viet Nam

Old School Badges

  • 1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Julie’s full profile.

My Groups