Jelle Smedts's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 0% response rate
  • Last login about 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jelle’s full profile.

Overview

  • 28 references 10 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Dutch, English; learning French
  • 39, Male
  • Member since 2014
  • Nightshifts in Logistics.
  • No education listed
  • From Antwerp, Flanders, Belgium
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

ABOUT ME

I try to travel as much as possible in my free time. Every vacation day from work I use to travel. I show my city a lot of times to friends from other countries so feel welcome. Since I work at night I will not be accepting people during monday-thursday. In weekends you are welcome!

PHILOSOPHY

Life passes most people by while they're making grand plans for it.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I had many wonderful people staying here as I prefer to spend time with the people and get to know them many of them became good friends. I try to spend a day or weekend with them. Show them the city (tourist and non tourist places), let them taste the chocolate, waffles, icecream, beers & fries (or pommes for some). Get to know them during the walks and bar visits. People who stay for the weekend have more options, like visiting the beach which is near. During summertime there are lovely beachwalks, sunsets, cocktail bars and surfclubs. Anyway to make a long story short: Prefer to spend time with the couchsurfers, listen to their expectations and try fitting all that in one plan. Just one little detail I'm not the museum kind of person but maybe you might be the one who changes that.

Interests

I like to see new places, cities, loving old ruins and cultures! Like to make local friends everywhere i go.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Isle of Skye, Isle of Staffa, Isle of Mull, Isle of Kerrera in Scotland.
Climbing the Vesuvius in Italy, Ben Lomond in Scotland and Pico on Açores, Portugal.
Coast of Northern (Giants Causeway) Ireland.
Meeting Roman/Greek Ruins in Italy, Spain, Croatia, Portugal, Greece, Jordan and Egypt.
Portugal beaches, mountains and castles.
Climb vulcanoes, watch whales, eat a meal cooked in a geyser, drink from geysers, lava caves and so much more on Açores!
Travel alone for 15 weeks.
Wandering around at Petra in Jordan.
Getting inside a Pyramid completly by myself, had a private fellucca cruise on the Nile, wandering around in Valley of the Kings & Abu Simbel in Egypt.
Working with Elephants in Thailand.
Discovering a Pyramid in the jungle in Cambodia.
Expedition to Hang En, the 3th biggest cave in the world, staying 3 days on a desolated island in Vietnam.
Visited Dracula's castle in Romania.
Got from New York, the biggest city to the Atacama desert, Chile in less than 20 hours.
Drive hours at night thru the desert and the Andes to see El Tatio Geysers explode by sunrise, Chile.
Visited wonderful ruins and flamingo lakes in the Atacama desert, Chile.
Found the end of the world with wild pinguin colonies and glaciers in Patagonia, Chile.
Perito Merino Glacier in Argentina.
Walked for hours in the mist on top of the mountains on Madeira which made it look like a Crash Bandicoot level. :D
Got lost in the Bosnian Pyramids.

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brunei Darussalam, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, Egypt, England, France, Georgia, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Guatemala, Hong Kong, Iceland, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macao, Malaysia, Malta, Mexico, Netherlands, Nicaragua, Northern Ireland, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Romania, Scotland, Singapore, Spain, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Belgium

Join Couchsurfing to see Jelle’s full profile.

My Groups