Not Accepting Guests

  • 81% response rate
  • Last login about 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jesse’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 15 References 10 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French
  • 26, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • Life & Learning
  • Firstly, by good people. Secondly, by good books.
  • From Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

See the world, enjoy it, hope it enjoys me.

ABOUT ME

I grew up between the ocean and the forest in Victoria, British Columbia. I have since lived in Nova Scotia, and have a deep love for both coasts. My current home is Ottawa, Ontario, where I recently graduated from a degree in Public History.

I like to spend my free time cooking, reading, swimming, hiking, playing guitar or mandolin, listening to podcasts, and biking around the city.

I have a deep love of learning, whether it be from getting my head in a book, or from going out into the world to find new people and new places.

Kindness is key.

PHILOSOPHY

Be kind and gentle, and care for the world and those around me. Live thoughtfully, and go about my way happily.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I have been often been a host in the past, and, more recently, have had some fantastic experiences surfing through Canada, France and Spain.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I've hosted a number of surfers in Ottawa and Halifax. In doing so, I've and made friends from Belgium, Germany, Italy and the USA -- the list continues to grow. I had a great time showing people around Halifax, but above all I've appreciated the stories, wisdom, and vibrant energy brought by every traveler who has stayed with me.

I've also had a great time surfing in New Brunswick, France and Spain in 2013, and still feel grateful for the generosity shown to be during my travels.

Interests

Traveling, music, cooking, swimming, hiking, humanities, history, ideas.

Being with good people.

  • birds
  • humanities
  • books
  • cooking
  • recipes
  • reading
  • traveling
  • podcasts
  • music
  • guitar
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • history

Music, Movies, and Books

Books - Island (Alistair MacLeod); Narcissus and Goldmund (Herman Hesse); Le petit prince (Antoine de Saint-Exupéry); Horton Hears a Who (Dr. Seuss); Franny & Zooey (JD Salinger); The Lord of the Rings (JRR Tolkien).

Music - Neil Young, Townes Van Zandt, Rolling Stones, Arcade Fire, Oscar Peterson, John Coltrane, Miles Davis, Wilco

Movies - The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly; Star Wars; Heartworn Highways

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Drove 3700 km from Victoria, BC, to Inuvik, NWT.

Walked 1000 km along the Camino de Santiago in France and Spain. It was an incredible journey, and one of the most humbling experiences of my life.

Spent seven days on the West Coast Trail in Canada, gawking at cedars, whales, and one big ocean.

Teach, Learn, Share

Teach: guitar; history or philosophy; making pies and omelettes.

Learn: français; bike maintenance; names of birds/plants/trees/clouds/stars; your favourite recipes.

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, China, Cuba, France, Israel, Jordan, Palestine, Russian Federation, Spain, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada

Join Couchsurfing to see Jesse’s full profile. It’s free!