Jessica Zhang's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login about 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jessica’s full profile.

Overview

  • 15 references 11 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Swedish; learning Arabic, Chinese, Persian (Farsi), Spanish, Turkish
  • 26, Female
  • Member since 2013
  • No occupation listed
  • No education listed
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

**~**~** Traveling November 2019-April 2020 - not in Sweden. After that though, I’ll hopefully get my own apartment so I can host again :D **~**~**

Please read my profile before writing to me!! =^_^=

A mostly happy, overly curious girl with way too many dreams and hobbies and way too little time, born in China, raised in Sweden. I'm aiming to become a medical doctor of some kind, and I like to engage in different project mostly related to human rights, social inclusion, equity, and so on and so forth.

"Live life for those microseconds of bliss," a wise teacher once said after telling my graduating class about how tough and hard life would be. Maybe one of the best advice that I have gotten.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Staying with locals provides a unique insight and connection to a new place and culture. I love meeting and talking to people with different backgrounds and experiences, to hear about their thoughts and perspectives on life, the society, the world, etc.

Hosting travelers is like experiencing (some of) the beauty of travelling while staying at home, and I also get to see my own city with new eyes. It makes me happy when I can share or show simple things in order to help a visitor on their way.

Couchsurfing is a great chance to get to know people and have fun together. More than anything I really like the idea and values upon which this concept is built - trust, sharing, curiosity, respect, intercultural understanding... (Not saying this always works in practice, but one can always hope)

❌❌ NOT on couchsurfing to date, flirt, cuddle or anything along that line ❌❌

Please add the line "Jag förstår" if you send me a message/request, so I know that we are on the same page! :)

Interests

When I'm happy, I like most things. When I'm unhappy, I like to sleep (?)

Fun things include dancing (mainly bachata, salsa), badminton, skiing, climbing stuff (hills, trees, walls... you name it), diving, dancing, kickboxing, walking...

I love music, mostly listening but also playing the piano (not very well) and trying out other instruments. I also like to sing but my parents used to tell me to sing more with my inner voice and less with my outer voice...

As a kid I used to read a lot, and to draw, paint, and write little stories. Not much time for that nowadays, but maybe when I retire, I will do that again.

I also like cooking (not on an everyday basis however, it's more fun to do fancy things for special occasions), but mostly baking. And eating, of couse :3

As most of us here I guess, I like travelling, meeting people and hearing different opinions and perspectives, experience new cultures and environments, and learning new languages.

Before deciding to study medicine I wanted to study law, and for a while I was considering sociology, political science and psychology. I've also taken some courses on peace and conflict studies, cultural geography, and some other random things because hey why not.

In short --
✅✅ Totally up for: Conversations, adventures, food, music...
❌❌ Totally not up for: Flirting, alcohol (I don't mind you drinking just don't force me), drugs...

  • animals
  • dancing
  • human rights
  • cooking
  • baking
  • reading
  • traveling
  • drawing
  • hiking
  • scuba diving
  • skiing
  • badminton
  • languages
  • medicine
  • eating
  • nature
  • adventures
  • sleeping
  • climbing

Music, Movies, and Books

I don't watch movies very often, but when I do I'm not very picky. I guess all movies are interesting in some way, even when they're not... (?)

Music associated with pleasant memories are the best. Different genres have their own beauty, meaningful lyrics (if there are lyrics) is a plus. And music in different languages!

Books - I really wish I had time to read more! The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini was probably the last book that I loved.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I find it very amazing to be alive at all. Facebook says that one of my most used words of all is "Amazing" so... A lot of things are amazing I guess.

Teach, Learn, Share

Happy to teach anything I happen to know (or not know - at your own risk), which you might be interested in learning. Eg languages, baking my favourite chocolate cake, random medical facts, some sorta sports or games maybe if I happen to know one. I'd love to be a teacher if I could only make kids listen to me, unfortunately I don't have that skill :(

Happy to learn most things I happen to not know, which you might be interested in teaching. Eg languages, baking your favourite cake, random medical facts, some sorta sports or games maybe... (I guess I ran out of ideas hehe). I also love discussing about the societies that we live in, norms, life, travels...

What I Can Share with Hosts

Cookies, thoughts, talks, laughs, stupid stories, random facts about random stuff.
I like to bring chocolate from Sweden because it's yummy, but I've come to realise that warm climate and chocolate don't always go well together, so we'll see about that...

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, China, Colombia, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, Egypt, England, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hong Kong, Hungary, Indonesia, Iraq, Japan, Jordan, Latvia, Lebanon, Lithuania, Macedonia, Malaysia, Malta, Mexico, Montenegro, Morocco, Netherlands, Norway, Oman, Palestine, Panama, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Scotland, Singapore, Spain, Sudan, Switzerland, Taiwan, Tanzania, Turkey, Uganda, Ukraine, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

China, Ecuador, Spain, Sweden, Turkey

Join Couchsurfing to see Jessica’s full profile.