Jessica Compton's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified
  • Address Verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login about 13 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jessica’s full profile.

Overview

  • 19 references 14 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Italian
  • 29, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • Nonprofit Director
  • Roanoke College; University of Canterbury
  • From Charleston, SC, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I enjoy both the everyday happenings in downtown Greenville as well as the respite of the nearby North Carolina mountains. I direct a nonprofit bicycle shop, Village Wrench, that is working toward an empowered community thriving through bicycles. In 2016, I lived in Christchurch, New Zealand where I went to grad school. I then spent the first half of 2017 funemployed, traveling and backpacking my face off. I am the oldest of four, and my family is a huge part of my life, as are my Charleston lowcountry roots; my Christian faith is the guiding principle of how I live and treat others. Jack, my sheepadoodle, and I, look forward to meeting you!

Check out my blog (with increasingly sporadic entries...) to learn more: https://walkingwithjessica.wordpress.com/

If you send a request, please make it thoughtful and show me that you have looked at some details on my profile.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I love the idea of helping others out when you can, and receiving the same hospitality at another point in time. I got to host a few phenomenal people over the last few years, and in my own travels, I've had the fortune to crash on couches and make many new friends.

Interests

I enjoy time with old friends and when strangers become new friends. I love a good conversation, appreciate different cultures, and enjoy finding out what individuals are passionate about. I like to make the most of any opportunity, so I'm usually doing something outside or attending a local function or festival. Bikes are rad, and it's the most fun way to get around.

  • writing
  • dancing
  • cooking
  • wine
  • beer
  • running
  • reading
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • backpacking
  • camping
  • christian
  • teaching
  • budget travel
  • food
  • mountain biking
  • adventure
  • laughing
  • friendship
  • social justice
  • bike touring
  • smiling
  • english literature
  • community development

Music, Movies, and Books

Books:
Surprised by Oxford
A Man Called Ove
The Gifts of Imperfection
To Kill a Mockingbird
East of Eden
Run with the Horsemen, The Whisper of the River, When All the World Was Young; A trilogy by Ferrol Sams
All the Light We Cannot See
Mere Christianity
Les Miserables
The Ruthless Elimination of Hurry

Movies:
Dan in Real Life
About Time
Hunt for the Wilderpeople
Shawshank Redemption
Forrest Gump
Pride and Prejudice
When Harry Met Sally
La La Land

Music
Genres include Folk, Pop, Country, Christian, Oldies, Soft Rock, Carolina Beach Music
The Avett Brothers, Lumineers, Needtobreathe, Josh Garrels, Lake Street Dive, The Temptations

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Spent three weeks backpacking through Patagonia, and several months of small trips after that: Havasupai, Joshua Tree, the Lost Coast, NYC, Utah, Peru, Galapagos Islands. Usually roughing it and making lots of friends in the process!

Hiked or backpacked about 400 miles of the Appalachian Trail in North Carolina, Virginia, and New Hampshire.
Also studied abroad in Perugia, Italy in the fall of 2013 - pretty much the best three months of my life.

Teach, Learn, Share

Teach:
Basic backpacking, Greenville and Charleston visiting suggestions, travel advice on other places I've been, how to change a flat bike tire

Learn:
Your story - what makes you come alive, what matters to you, Cooking (I can follow a recipe pretty well, but I'd love to expand my repertoire with your favorites!), Reading maps (Seriously, orientation is not my forte)

Share:
My home, a clean space for a good night's rest, a hot cup of tea or coffee, snuggles with my sheepadoodle, and probably breakfast.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Trying to live up to the Southern hospitality reputation I grew up amidst... endless cups of tea and a place that feels like home. We can be friends and share a yarn (kiwi for conversation), or you can do your own thing; both work for me.

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Bahamas, Belgium, Bermuda, Cambodia, Canada, Chile, Costa Rica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, England, France, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Mexico, New Zealand, Peru, Puerto Rico

Countries I’ve Lived In

Italy, New Zealand, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Jessica’s full profile.