Logo orange

Jessica Diamond

Eastsound, WA, United States

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 4 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jessica's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 76 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, Spanish; learning French, Portuguese
  • 33, Female
  • Member since 2007
  • Cyclist, dancer, wanderer
  • St. John's College (Annapolis, MD), ...
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

I left my most recent home (Orcas Island, Washington State, US) in November to spend 2 weeks in Istanbul, then 3 months in India, and now 3 months of bicycling through Andalucia and Portugal. I'll be honest, I had no idea just how gorgeous Andalucia and Portugal are until I got on my bicycle and started riding... I think I'm in love---with the mountains, the sea, the fado, the architecture (azulejos!) and winding streets, and the people!

ABOUT ME

I'm cheerful, quirky, compassionate, reflective, and up for adventure. I'm interested in so many things--the world never ceases to amaze me! Some particulars: local (sub)culture, live music, dance (salsa, swing, tango), bicycling, mountains and oceans, architecture, history, urban planning, ecology, philosophy, and biology...and more! I love discovering new perspectives and ideas.

PHILOSOPHY

Keep an open mind, open ears, and an open heart.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

In October of 2011, I completed my first solo bicycle trip from NYC to Montreal to Boston, and stayed with amazing and inspiring hosts along the way. From 2011-2012, I hosted more than 24 CouchSurfers in my apartment in Baltimore. I got back on the bicycle last year in Europe and my hosts were again beyond fabulous--so much CS love! I love this community!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

My favorite thing about CS is feeling like you've come home to an old friend, wherever you are in the world.

Interests

Conversation. Bicycling. DANCE! (Salsa and swing, tango, whatever!) Yoga. Sustainability. Literature, sociology, philosophy, natural science/nature, culture, figuring out what "culture" is, music, the meaning of life, dancing (did I already mention that?), silliness, craziness. And vegetables!

Conversacion, baile (especialmente la salsa y swing!), yoga, literatura, sociologia, cultura, historia, musica, arte.

Music, Movies & Books

I like just about anything that's lovely or profound or has a bite to it. My musical interests are broad and varied; I like ethnic/folk music, salsa, jazz, electronic and hip hop, and am always hoping to discover new artists.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Cycling solo from Amsterdam to Santiago de Compostela. Despite my better judgment, taking on the Annapurna circuit in Nepal in December, and slogging up to 5000 meters altitude--could've gone better, but WOW, was it gorgeous!

Teach, Learn, Share

I was a Jump Rope Champion. (Yes, we exist!) I also know a few salsa and swing dancing moves. And a bit too much about Plato. And cicadas.

Countries I've Visited

Belgium, Cambodia, Canada, Colombia, Ecuador, England, France, Germany, India, Israel, Lao People's Democratic Republic, Nepal, Netherlands, Peru, Portugal, Puerto Rico, Spain, Thailand

Countries I've Lived In

Peru, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Jessica's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile