Jean Guilherme Oliveira's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 25 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jean’s full profile.

Overview

  • 27 references 22 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Portuguese, Spanish; learning English
  • 26, Male
  • Member since 2016
  • architect
  • Architect and Urban Planner
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hey, dear stranger who reads this message.
I'm Jean, although I have a French name, I am not French. I am Brazilian, 25 years old, architect, designer and artist. I create and recreate different possibilities: I like to create, and I am always venturing into different areas. I allow myself to create different ways of looking at and knowing thousands of possibilities of a world within a world.

I finished college in July 2022 and decided to follow a different path from my classmates: traveling the world. I found the right moment to follow my childhood dream of knowing more about this world. I exchanged studies in Spain for a year and guess what, it was right at the time of the pandemic hahaha It was there that I discovered the app and used it for the first and only time. Now, I'm living in England for 6 months and I use the app again to get to know new people, cultures, customs, cities, that correspond to my low-cost travel style, in addition to the passing of the days I feel more comfortable with the new language.

I've been in England for 5 months now. Between volunteer work and travel, I've been living and getting to know more about England. Anyway, dear stranger, I'd love to get to know you more too.

my social networks to know more about me:
https://www.linkedin.com/in/jguioli/
https://www.instagram.com/jguioli/

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Meet people from all around the world it's just fantastic. I believe that every person is so unique and we can learn something from everyone. And in the end, everyone goes with a little piece of each other.

Interests

  • culture
  • theater
  • architecture
  • dancing
  • parks
  • performance art
  • museums
  • urban planning
  • city trips
  • art galleries
  • urbanism
  • discoteca
  • culture and history
  • tourist guide

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: Brazilian Music, sad music (Adele has my heart), pop music, reggaeton. (But, I'm eclectic).

I love series/film like: Grey's anatomy, Las chicas del cable, Sense 8, Bohemian Rhapsody and programs on architecture, construction and self-knowledge

Books: The Death and Life of Great American Cities
How to Study Public Life
Cities for People

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I went to a slum in the city of Bauru, Brazil, to build two emergency houses for people who have no financial conditions and who lived in an unhealthy situation. Due to the distance and the difficulty of access to basic sanitation, the volunteers could not bathe normally. They could only clean themselves with wet wipes.
So, I spent six days working under the sun, which at the time the temperature was 6º during the night and 36º during the day without a bath. At this moment, I realized the importance of simple things in our daily lives that we don't realize the privileges we have.

I crossed the Netherlands from north to south by bicycle to analyze and reflect on the urban mobility system in the country.

I presented a scientific paper at a university in Mexico with my intermediate Spanish.

Teach, Learn, Share

I would like to learn about the city, architecture, historical and tourist monuments through a local perspective, the reasons that make you live where you live (I like the territorial and human connections. Why do we live where we live?) I’d love to listen to your travel story or learn more about your passions.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I would love to share about my experiences, talk about travel and tell my journey from architecture student to traveler with no return ticket, prepare some typical or very Brazilian food, tell about Brazil through a Brazilian perspective, share some Portuguese word (or Spanish as well), about art and decoration are subject that I like to talk

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Brazil, England, France, Ireland, Netherlands, Northern Ireland, Portugal, Spain, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Brazil, England, Spain

Join Couchsurfing to see Jean’s full profile.

My Groups