Joan Moore's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Accepting Guests

  • 94% response rate
  • Last login 2 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Joan’s full profile.

Overview

  • 348 references 298 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French, German
  • 61, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • I spend my time making this world a better place! Taking ...
  • I have a bachelor in social work,home schooled 6 kids and...
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To bring a little sunshine to everyone I meet!

ABOUT ME

I am a 61 year old woman who spent the first forty-five years of her life raising six kids on a dairy farm in Saskatchewan, Canada. I moved to Arizona to do some volunteer work and fell in love and now my life is filled with warmth, sunshine, and time to do some things for myself, when I am not working caring for elderly and developmentally disabled clients. I love people and new experiences and try to make the world a little better for everyone I meet, every day. I still find time for friends and family in Canada!

PHILOSOPHY

I believe that we should live life to the fullest and try each day to make the world a better place.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I love having people in my home and since experiencing couchsurfing in Italy on a trip in 2011 I am more enthused about this network than ever! I plan on joining the Tucson couchsurfing network and will try to connect with fellow surfers on my visits to Canada as well.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I grew up in a home where we constantly had boarders or people from other countries and places staying for a night, a week, a year. I continued that practice when I had my own home, providing a home for people from Germany, Ethiopia, Ukraine and hosting people from many places in between. When traveling as a child across Canada and the States, we more often stayed in people's homes than in hotels. I just returned from a trip to Italy and met some absolutely amazing people through couch surfing! From a wonderful stay in the mountain town of Monzuno with a wonderful couchsurfer and her daughters, to tours of Rome and Venice with interesting and informative couchsurfers, to a group meeting with a number of young and adventurous couchsurfers in Palermo... I have had only positive and terrific couch surfing experiences!!!

Interests

Almost anything! Here in Tucson, I bike, hike, run, walk, ride motorcycles, kayak, camp, scuba dive, dance, and garden. I love to read, to cook, to throw a football or kick a soccer ball around. I love to meet interesting people, lapidary (that's cutting rocks). Suggest something, I'd probably love to try it.

  • dancing
  • cooking
  • running
  • motorcycles
  • gardening
  • traveling
  • volunteer work
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • camping
  • surfing
  • scuba diving
  • soccer
  • volunteering
  • tours

Music, Movies, and Books

Any music that you can dance to: jazz, blues, rock, latin, etc. Any music you can listen to: classical, jazz, easy listening, etc. Country when I'm in the mood or there is someone who can two-step up a storm!! Movies? Your typical 'chick flicks', comedies, some action, foreign films. Books? I guess I'm a bit of a snob... your maeve binchy, new york bestsellers are not my idea of a great read. I love Canadian authors, and my favourite book is usually the one I'm reading at the moment.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Giving birth to six wonderful children and being at the birth of my grand-daughters... okay, that's eight things

Teach, Learn, Share

Hmmmmm... Something to ponder further

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Dominican Republic, England, France, Germany, Italy, Mexico, Netherlands, Sweden, Switzerland, Tunisia

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    5 Vouches
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Joan’s full profile.

My Groups