Joanna Dzugala-Filipczak's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 80% response rate
  • Last login about 3 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Joanna’s full profile.

Overview

  • 82 references 73 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Polish; learning German
  • 53, Female
  • Member since 2013
  • Joanna (office admin), Gregory (engineer), Ola (student)
  • Jo: Lodz University, Greg: Lodz Polytechnic
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Conquer the world

ABOUT ME

We are a family of three (Joanna (47),Gregory (55) and Ola(19)) originally from Poland. We live in England permanently for a while, since 2006. We love travelling. Great Britain is beautiful and we've seen quite a lot of places here. We haven't seen much of the world yet but been to a few countries.
We like hiking, biking, camping and canoeing. Ola goes to activity camp every year to try new things, so sleeping under the sky or rafting are not new to her.
We also like visiting museums, palaces, gardens and science centers, etc. where we can learn new things and expand our knowledge about the world.

PHILOSOPHY

It's never too late to start doing new things.
Travel is never a matter of money, but of courage.
Life isn't about waiting for the storm to pass...It's about learning to dance in the rain.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

As we become members of CS, we'd love to host and couch surf to know local customs & cultures. We have tried to bring up Ola to become an open-minded and curious person and we believe that meeting people from various countries and backgrounds will broaden her horizons immensely as well as enrich our lives.
We can offer our guests a comfortable and relaxing place to sleep. As we often go on one day trips in the area at weekends so you can always come along. Yorkshire Moors and Yorkshire Dales are our favourite destinations.
We love travelling so from time to time we venture out and seek a sofa, too.
We think it's important to give people without references a chance. After all, they have to start somewhere.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Our experience is growing slowly and so is the list of interesting people we hosted, and those who generously invited us to their homes. We met people from Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, China, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Hong-Kong, India, Italy, Panama, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Singapore, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland and the USA as well as these who live in Great Britain.
Before and from now and again, both in Poland and England, we host Americans through a different project (the church me and Ola attend to), and we are still in touch with some of them. They were always lovely people, no problems at all.
As surf coachers we always felt welcome. The people we stayed with were very friendly and helpful. They gave us valuable advice and showed us places we would have never discovered on our own.

Interests

Ola: She loves science, especially psychology, astronomy and stargazing. She studies Psychology at Hope University in Liverpool. Ola likes videogames, Minecraft and Worms Ultimate Mayhem are some of her favourites. She also enjoys learning German and is interested in German culture. Ola is obsessed about Paris (we have already been to the capital of France on Bastille Day twice) and Berlin. But most of all she loves talking.
Gregory: His main interests are science, engineering and electronics. He has created a YouTube channel (k-nemo) where he shares his DIY and repair ideas. Gregory also accompanies Ola in her astronomical pursuits. He is obsessed with photography and takes photos of everything. We laugh that every single trip is 'spoiled' because he always finds thousands of things worth being on a picture :).
Joanna: She is a proper book worm. She says that a good book is a perfect way to relax after a long, busy day. She does some voluntary work for the church and is quite a good cook.
We all like socialising; spending time with people is very important because we can always learn something new.

  • culture
  • books
  • photography
  • cooking
  • electronics
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • canoeing
  • camping
  • astronomy
  • engineering
  • science
  • volunteering

Music, Movies, and Books

We listen to most kinds of music. Pop and classical music are our favourites. Gregory and Ola like music from the early 1940's. Ola likes rock and metal.
Gregory likes sci-fi and old Polish films and Ola is obsessed with the Matrix trilogy.
We all enjoy watching documentaries about everything really, nature, animals, science & history just to mention a few.
Ola prefers fact books to fiction and Joanna likes novels. Bone China by Roma Tearne and Marta's Legacy series by Francine Rivers are ones of her favourite.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

We don't think we've done anything amazing but are often amazed by small things.
A tree in blossom, a mountain range covered with snow, starry sky...The things we not always pay attention to and often pass without noticing.
Ola saw The Alps and played with dolphins.
Fireworks flying off the Eiffel Tower on Bastille Day were breathtaking.

Teach, Learn, Share

Gregory can teach you to mend the bike.
We would like to learn about everyday life in other countries.
Ola would love to learn a few new words in German and deepen her psychological knowledge.

What I Can Share with Hosts

We can cook a Polish meal.
The knowledge about the area we live in

Countries I’ve Visited

Belarus, Cambodia, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Hungary, Italy, Lithuania, Malaysia, Morocco, Portugal, Singapore, Spain, Thailand, Ukraine, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

England, Poland

Join Couchsurfing to see Joanna’s full profile.

My Groups