Jo Zell's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 70% response rate
  • Last login about 1 hour ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jo’s full profile.


  • 36 references 33 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, Spanish
  • 30, Female
  • Member since 2013
  • Chercheuse en chémobiologie
  • Chimie/biochimie
  • From London, England, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

*Français dessous*

My boyfriend and I moved to Lyon in Feb 2022 for work. We love meeting new people, and contributing to a mode of tourism that concerns the people, and less the momuments :-) We prefer to hoast on weekends.

About us: We met in Agde, South of France and then we lived in Dijon for 2 years. I grew up in London and studied in Sheffield, Toulouse and Paris. My boyfriend Stive comes from near Nîmes, south of France. He works as a bike mechanic and I work as an organic chemist in a big company. Stive and I are incredibly active, love walking, cycling and playing sports (mountain/road biking, swimming, running, hiking, climbing...). Cultural activities and games are great too if they're interactive 8-)
We love meeting people from different cultures and so far we've hosted Germans, French, Colombian, Russian and Taiwanese couchsurfers at our place. I'm an ecologist (vegetarian, and enthusiastic cook), socialist, pacifist (first-aider in a homeless shelter in London for 8 years and Red Cross in Paris for 1 yr), feminist, and a keen debater. A scientist must know how to challenged. After my PhD in biological chemistry 2018 and 3.5 wonderful years in Paris I went travelling in Colombia and Mexico for 4 months.

Mon copain (Stive) et moi avons déménagé à Lyon en fév 2022 pour le boulot. On adore recontrer des gens et participer à un mode de tourisme qui se focalise sur les gens, et pas les monuments :-) Nous préférons acceuilir le week-end.
Sur nous : On s'est connu à Agde, et on a vécu 2 ans dans le froid à Dijon :'D J'ai grandi à Londres et j'ai fait une licence à Sheffield dans le nord et un Erasmus à Toulouse. Stive vient de Sauve, un joli village paumé entre Nîmes et Alès. Il travaille comme mécano de vélo et moi comme chimiste organicienne. Nous sommes super actifs, on adore marcher, faire du vélo, du sport (vélo de route/VTT, natation, course, rando, escalade. On peut faire des trucs cultural ou des jeux d'intérieurs s'ils sont interactifs 8-) On adore rencontrer des gens de toutes cultures, et nous avons déjà accueilli chez nous des gens d'Allemagne, Autriche, Colombie, Russie et Taiwan. Je suis écolo, végétarienne, et j'adore un débat. Un scientifique doit savoir comment entretenir un débat :-) Après ma thèse en chémobiologie en 2018 et 3 ans géniaux à Paris, j'ai voyagé en Amérique Latine pour 4 mois.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

J'ai toujours vécu en coloc et j'adore partager mes jours et mes expériences personnelles avec des gens.
J'ai même écrit un blog de mes voyages en 2019 (ci-dessous)

I have always lived in shared flats and love sharing my days and my personal experiences with people. Life's more fun when it's shared!
Here's my travel blog from 2019 for 4 months in Colombia/Mexico/California if you're interested:


  • culture
  • dancing
  • wine
  • beer
  • board games
  • music
  • cycling
  • science
  • learning languages
  • climbing
  • salsa
  • randonnée
  • vtt
  • vin
  • vélo
  • langues
  • hiking,
  • bière

Music, Movies, and Books

Reggae, drum n bass, salsa, reggaeton, house, soul, blues, RnB, indie, funk... bon c'est les mêmes mots en français/anglais/espagnol

I consume books and I love reading wherever I go, in libraries or cafés while traveling for example, or hanging out with friends who also like reading and playing on their phone whilst I read :'D

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Hosting Rey, an Argentinian couchsurfer, in Paris. He arrived after 8h on his motorbike, we painted him all over in French colours to watch the 2016(?) World Cup final match. When France won, we went out for the huge street party with millions of people everywhere, we climbed up the statue of Bastille and danced until 3am! He escorted me home on his motorbike and me on my bicycle through Paris :'D

Teach, Learn, Share

I love practicing LANGUAGES, I've lived in France for 8 years and speak fluent French, and South America for 4 months and I love any chance to practice my Spanish. I think it's important to be corrected.
I love COOKING and sharing recipes from all around the world. Growing up in London, I have many childhood friends with whom I've always cooked Indian/Pakistani/Caribean food. I lived briefly with an Egyptian family and learnt how to cook falafel and arabic pastries too! Whilst sharing culture I love being able to share food! I used to be a more serious vegetarian, now I dabble, making cooking even more interesting ;-)
GAMES: I'm (hyper) active, like a child, and love playing games... card games, word games, drinking games, dares, dancing games, sports games, songs to sing when hiking (I was in hippy scouts)

What I Can Share with Hosts

Compagnie, conversation, astuces de cuisine, appréciation de bière et vin ! Aide avec l'anglais, le français ou l'espagnol... ou la chimie orga ! :'D

Company, conversation, cooking tips, beer and wine appreciation! Help with English, French and maybe Spanish practice (and organic chemistry! :'D)

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Colombia, Croatia, Denmark, Finland, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Mexico, Montenegro, Morocco, Poland, Portugal, Réunion, Scotland, South Africa, Spain, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Colombia, France, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Jo’s full profile.