João JD's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • 50% response rate
  • Last login 2 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see João’s full profile.

Overview

  • 28 references 16 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Portuguese, Spanish
  • 34, Male
  • Member since 2017
  • Scientist
  • PhD
  • From Lisbon, Lisbon, Portugal
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Olá to the world and outer space!
About me....clearly, I am a tornado of souls!!!
Friendship is my business....and business is good! I love to meet my friends and make new friends all around the world! Fortunately, I have plenty of friends worldwide ;)

At the work I am a scientist in ecosystems, sustainability, biodiversity, geography, remote sensing, and climate fields.
I published 8 peer-reviewed papers in international scientific journals, won 2 international awards, was a speaker at some international conferences...and more!

I am a positive person towards life, towards animals and nature, towards love, compassion, and friendship...
Love wins :)

I practice yoga and a martial art called Savate since 2014. Meditation as well.
Trying to reach a holistic spiritual lifestyle. Step-by-step :) Listening to the sound of soul**
I also play the drums!

I like tattoos, travelling, motorbikes, music, concerts, festivals, animals, meeting people, reading, science, etc etc etc!
I am Vegetarian and sometimes vegan.
I am a Geographer that believes "space is special".
Interested in working with environmental and sustainable development issues - humanity and environmental.

I already did volunteer as well in a refugee camp.

"Eu prefiro ser essa metamorfose ambulante do que ter aquela velha opinião formada sobre tudo"

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I am part of this community since 2011 (yet I had another profile that I can´t remember the log in details)
- Meeting new people from all over the world
- Host and be hosted = having unique amazing experiences
- I will try to Host as much as I can (I have always friends visiting me around so is not possible all time to host)
- CS is a much better way to travel around!
- Also, to just meet people, either in the city, I am living or in the place, I am visiting.
- Make new friends :)
- Mutual help

Interests

  • concerts
  • music festivals
  • animal welfare
  • environment
  • human rights
  • beer
  • coffee
  • vegetarian
  • vegan
  • yoga
  • meditation
  • traveling
  • guitar
  • martial arts
  • geography
  • history
  • languages
  • science
  • travel
  • world
  • travelling
  • nature
  • friends
  • friendship
  • backpacker
  • rock
  • heavy metal
  • sun
  • motorbike
  • peace
  • maps
  • hitch-hiking
  • climate change
  • van
  • friendships
  • tattoo
  • sustainable living
  • nature walks
  • zero waste
  • autostop
  • alternative living
  • planet earth
  • vanlife
  • environmental protection
  • gis
  • climate
  • spatial planning
  • van life
  • metalhead
  • satellites

Music, Movies, and Books

Metal!!!
Traditional Brazilian music; Salsa; Perreo; Rock; many others

Prefer to read articles; scientific books or articles. (But some books like "Animal Farm" e.g. are awesome!)

Prefer to watch documentaries rather than movies. (But some old cinema classics are great!)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Travel 2 summer months backpacking in the European continent from west to east
Saved a butterfly
Living in Colombia...
AMAZONAS! "You’re in the Amazon. The greatest miracle"
A lot more, I would say....but that is for the conversations!

Teach, Learn, Share

Open to all kinds of that if it will be interesting!

What I Can Share with Hosts

Nice conversations
Energy
Stories
Experiences
Knowledge
Life perspectives
Friendship
Beer and coffee
Dreams
Smile

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Armenia, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Bulgaria, Cabo Verde, China, Colombia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Jordan, Kosovo, Latvia, Lebanon, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Morocco, Netherlands, Palestine, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Sao Tome and Principe, Scotland, Serbia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Colombia, Finland, Jordan, Portugal

Join Couchsurfing to see João’s full profile.

My Groups