Iosif Gilca's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 6 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Iosif’s full profile.

Overview

  • 156 references 96 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Romanian; learning Polish
  • 30, Male
  • Member since 2013
  • Operations Manager within Supply Chain Management
  • Business, Logistics & Analytics (Big Data).
  • From Timișoara, Timiș County, Romania
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Romanian expat living and working in Poland.
For the past several years I've been working within the Transportation and Logistics industry (TLS) and Poland is the epicenter of this industry in Europe. This is the main reason for which I've relocated to Poland, only recently moved to Warsaw (October) after living in Poznan for the past year.
Before moving to Poland (2019) I used to live mostly in Romania (Timisoara), couple months in Wales (Cardiff) and the gap year after high-school in the US (Chicago).
It was during university years when I've discovered this amazing world of CS, mainly through Erasmus program, and ever since being active and having an amazing journey.

HOST EXPERIENCE (please skip if you don't want to stay)
I've hosted over 200 fellow travelers since I joined CS, in different homes and different scenarios, meaning I have already met most of the stereotypes. My learnings: common sense and good manners go a long way.
With this in mind, if you consider staying over:
- please (briefly) read my profile and try getting the big picture - will it work for you?!
- please have a complete profile: fair share of personal information, some pictures, some CS friends, also some references would help or at least Verification;
- write a proper request: keep it simple and be yourself.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Couchsurfing has brought some of the best experiencies in my life so far: best moments, best people, best places in the world. Due to CS my faith in humanity is completely restored, alive and kicking!
As a host I have often walked the extra mile and made my surfers' experience unique, resulting in them visiting again or becoming lifetime friends.

Interests

The main interest for now is to keep social interaction real and tangible, especially considering these tough times. Constant learning and development would be also an interest, including foreign languages and other skills.

  • #travel
  • #poland
  • #easterneurope
  • #softskills
  • #polishcuisine

Music, Movies, and Books

MUSIC
Mostly techno (Deep Tech and Minimal) but generally all good music.

MOVIES
Mostly dramas. Some good series, too.

BOOKS
Shogun, Good to Great

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Driving journey from West coast to East coast in the US.

Teach, Learn, Share

Open for all.

What I Can Share with Hosts

My time and never ending crave for curiosity = this includes my well developed listening skills.
I can share my life experience, some cooking skills, knowledge about Romania and personal views on the World, and even know-how from my professional experience.
I can cook some dishes and don't mind helping out with dish-washing or general house cleaning.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Denmark, England, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Mexico, Moldova, Netherlands, Poland, San Marino, Scotland, Serbia, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, Ukraine, United States, Vatican City State, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

Poland, Romania, United States, Wales

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Iosif’s full profile.

My Groups