Logo orange

Joel + Sarah + Oliver Heng Hartse

Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 11 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Joel + Sarah + Oliver's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 40 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning Chinese, French, Spanish
  • 34, Other
  • Member since 2007
  • 1 PhD student, 1 graphic designer, 1...
  • Joel: MA in English; Sarah: BA in Ar...
  • From Spokane WA (Joel), Littleton CO (Sarah)
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Learn how to be parents

ABOUT ME

Since our married life started in 2004, we've lived in the cities of Seattle Washington, Eureka California, Shaoxing & Hangzhou in Zhejiang Province, China, and now Vancouver BC, Canada.

Currently Joel is studying for a PhD in Teaching English as a Second Language at UBC, and Sarah does freelance illustration and caricature work. Oliver is working on learning how to talk.

PHILOSOPHY

If you're asking for someone's personal philosophy in one or two sentences, you're asking for shallow.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

We signed onto CS when we were living in China, and have had some really amazing experiences hosting and surfing with a wide variety of people. Hosting in Canada seems to be just as exciting!

We love being hosts. We'll try to make you comfortable without invading your personal space!

As travelers, we hope we're polite and courteous guests.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

So far it's been fantastic!

Interests

Joel likes: music, reading, public radio, newspapers, language, dogs (although we don't have one)

Sarah likes: cooking, drawing, creating stuff, reading in bed, window shopping, word games, low impact sports like badminton and bocce ball

Oliver likes: sleeping, walking, clapping, swimming, the works of Eric Carle

Music, Movies & Books

We like: Smart/funny directors(Wong Kar Wai, Woody Allen, the Coen Brothers and Wes Anderson to name a few), BBC comedies/drama, artsy animations, ALL types of music (Joel is a music critic), and pretty much anything that's printed in English. (Sarah loves a good British mystery, Joel usually picks up nonfiction)

One Amazing Thing I've Done

We got married, which is pretty amazing. We have a baby boy, which is even more amazing.

Teach, Learn, Share

We're always up for book and music exchanges!

Joel can teach you about the many different varieties of English around the world and how they developed. He will also ask you many questions about your language background and language learning history. (Sorry.)

Sarah can teach you basic sewing techniques, painting, and how to make meals for up to 10 people using a toaster oven and hot plate.

Countries I've Visited

Canada, China, Ireland, Malaysia, Mexico, Netherlands, United Kingdom

Countries I've Lived In

Canada, China, United Kingdom, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Joel + Sarah + Oliver's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile