Logo orange

Johanna Siitonen

Finland

Maybe Accepting Guests

Last login about 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Johanna's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 36 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, Finnish; learning German, Swedish
  • 30, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • Drifter and physiotherapist
  • Physiotherapist, Master of forest ec...
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Kindness. Pass it on.

ABOUT ME

My name is Johanna, but my Finnish friends call me Johku and English speaking friends Joe (yes, Joe like a guys name, not Jo..ask me if you want to know the story behind it). I was born in Helsinki 1984, since then I have been doing a lot of different things, some successful and some, well, not that much. I love meeting people, having random discussions, having new experiences, learning useless skills and of course- traveling.

I believe that laughing makes many things better, so I try to do it as often as possible. I have a big heart and consider people to be my friends easily. If you ask my friends they will almost certainly tell you that I'm easily talked into doing just about anything as long as someone can convince me that it might be fun, so I guess I'm a bit of a daredevil as well.One of the things I really don't like is wasting my time, this could be by doing things I don't enjoy or spending time in company that are not able to accept others as they are.

Some random things about me: you can catch me humming while walking (I don't notice it myself) or talking to my computer (I think it has the personality of it's own). I'm pretty persistent as a person and if I have decided to do something, I will for sure also do it. Here I could for example tell you a story where I got my left hand fingers bruised, because I decided to learn to snap my finger also with my non dominant hand (but hey, I can do it now!) :).

PHILOSOPHY

Pretty much said in the mission part, aye?!

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I have been hosting some and surfing some. When I was living in Netherlands I was maybe a bit more active in taking part in activities, but now in Finland I haven't participated that much. I love to host people for longer than one night so that I'm able to get to know my surfers a bit better. So far every surfer and host have taught me something and I'm sure this will continue happening and I love it!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Met some truly wonderful people, made friends to last for a life time and experienced a great deal of generosity. Before CS, I participated in Hospitalityclub..both are truly awesome.

Interests

Some of the things I really enjoy:

-sports, like yoga, cycling, running and crossfit (I hate watching sports on TV though..you have been warned :))

- reading books, almost any kind will do, but my all time favorite would definitely be The 13 1/2 Lives of Captain Bluebear by Walter Moers. Love his other books a lot as well!

- watching movies, everything from horror to animation as long as it's good

- preparing meals with friends! I love to cook and try new recipes, especially with cool people to share my meal with

-drinking way too much coffee or tea and talking for hours

- I love nature and hiking. This is why I ended up studying forest ecology in the first place and it is still extremely close to my heart even though I'm not working in that field anymore. I can easily stay quiet for ages when I'm in the forest and just watch what is going on around me.

Music, Movies & Books

About movies and books I have already written above, so maybe so music here then. It all depends on my mood, but at the moment I'm listening a lot for example Jason Mraz, Ben Howard, Bon Iver, The xx, Gabrielle Aplin, Xavier Rudd, Shapeshifter, Jarle Bernhoft, Kanerva, Don Johnson Big Band and Super Janne, just to mention few.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Just to mention few: paragliding in Turkey, hiking in Lapland, hugging friends.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you for example to juggle, mix music (just basics) and how to work out with kettlebell.

I want to learn longboarding, surfing, paragliding and how to say compliments in as many languages as possible! If you have a useless skill you can teach me, I'm all in!

Countries I've Visited

Austria, Belgium, China, Denmark, Estonia, Fiji, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Luxembourg, Norway, Philippines, Portugal, Russian Federation, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I've Lived In

Finland, Netherlands, New Zealand

Join Couchsurfing to see Johanna's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile