Jonathan Koller's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified
  • Address not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 93% response rate
  • Last login 15 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jonathan’s full profile.

Overview

  • 217 references 190 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning English, French, German, Italian, Russian, Spanish, Thai
  • 36, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • Forensic engineer
  • Michigan
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I'm starting a cooperative project on Detroit's east side. The focus is on communal living and growing houses with trees. So far, I am the only resident of the project :)

I hosted a lot of people at my little apartment over the years and during that time, many of my surfers helped me fix up a big house on Detroit's east side. Now I'm living in that big house! One day soon I hope it will be the epicenter of research and development for living architecture in north america (h/t baubotanik).

To this cause, I offer myself, my house, and my energy. If the idea of growing a house (some important parts of a house, at least) inspires you and you're looking for a place and a way to uplift the world, we should really talk.

About me: My past guests and been more than candid in their references...perhaps one thing they haven't shared is that, for my part, I tend to leave three word references.

[Pandemic]If you are traveling to Detroit, please call the Detroit health department at 313-230-0505 to set up a free covid test upon your arrival. I can help you quarantine until you have a result. Alternatively, let me know about your recent test and exposure profile when your send me a message.[For all that is good and just, end this /Pandemic]

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

The free economy is good for the soul.

Interests

I want to grow a house

  • insects
  • vegetarian
  • vegan
  • drawing
  • cycling
  • engineering
  • languages
  • science
  • beaches
  • rivers
  • art
  • plants
  • pizza
  • feminism
  • cities
  • detroit
  • trees
  • peace and love
  • natural building
  • banjo
  • democracy
  • bodywork
  • noodles
  • infrastructure
  • hacky sack

Teach, Learn, Share

I am learning how to grow a house from trees. If you know about that, or can speak some good languages, I would love to learn from you.

I can teach you about banjo playing, beard growing, massage therapy, straight razor shaves, Detroit, houses and construction.

I can share my apartment and house and bikes and time with you.

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Canada, England, France, Germany, Netherlands, Norway, Panama, Scotland, Spain, Thailand

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    9 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Jonathan’s full profile.

My Groups