Jonathan KB's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jonathan’s full profile.

Overview

  • 108 references 93 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Danish, English
  • 28, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • Travelling cyclist!
  • Studied Music at The University of Leeds
  • From London, United Kingdom
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I'm Jonathan - although most people call me JKB.
I'm half English, half Danish. Born and raised in London.

I'm currently cycling around the world.
At the time of writing I've pedalled 36,000km from London to Australia over the two years.

For more info on the trip, check my blog here:
https://www.facebook.com/jkbsbikeride
https://jkbsbikeride.com

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Four of years ago I traveled from London to Bali, Indonesia without flying. The journey took 7 months and it was on this trip that I first tried Couchsurfing. The hospitality of those I stayed with was incredible and since then I have surfed in over 15 countries.

I was able to host a couple of visitors for the first time while I was studying in Leeds, unfortunately I've not been in a position where I've been able to host much more but I look forward to opening my doors to the community once I've settled somewhere.

I'm traveling by bicycle because I'm looking for the most immersive method of traveling. For me, Couchsurfing and staying with people local to each place I stop compliments and completes that experience.

Interests

Aside from traveling, my other love in life is music.
I'm a percussionist - specialising in drum kit and marimba.
Here's an example of me playing:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Rw-b8AHRwdw

I've played in classical orchestras, jazz ensembles and punk bands.
Most recently I was in this folk/indie band:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=md0AntM0AXk

Experiencing live music is very important tome . I DJ and collect vinyl too - anything from house to afrobeat.

I also love sport - I'm a big Chelsea fan and I play tennis too.

  • writing
  • dancing
  • cooking
  • breakfast
  • walking
  • flying
  • traveling
  • blogging
  • music
  • live music
  • jazz
  • dance music
  • cycling
  • sports
  • tennis

Music, Movies, and Books

Music - anything from funk and jazz, house and techno, punk and hardcore, dubstep and grime.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

-Travelling from London to Bali without flying. (Took me around Europe, up Scandinavia, across Russia on the Trans-Siberian express, down Mongolia and China, through SE Asia all the way to Indonesia).

-Walking the Camino de Santiago (700km over a month from SW France all the way to the west coast of Spain).

Teach, Learn, Share

-I can teach you how to cook a proper English breakfast, a vital skill for life (and for any hangover).
-I can (try) to teach you to DJ vinyl.
-I can talk for hours to you about the music I love and explain why the UK is such a special place for dance music.

-I love to hear about different lifestyles and cultures; tell me about yours and I will listen.

What I Can Share with Hosts

The spirit of adventure is contagious... that I can share!

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Armenia, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Cambodia, China, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, England, Faroe Islands, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hong Kong, Hungary, Indonesia, Iran, Italy, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Macedonia, Malaysia, Mongolia, Montenegro, Netherlands, Peru, Poland, Romania, Russian Federation, Scotland, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Tajikistan, Thailand, Turkey, Turkmenistan, United Kingdom, Uzbekistan, Viet Nam, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Jonathan’s full profile.