Jon Johannesson's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 98% response rate
  • Last login about 11 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jon’s full profile.


  • 219 references 162 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Icelandic; learning Chinese, Danish, German, Spanish
  • 63, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • Self employed
  • Educated in schools and the hard school of life
  • From Reykjavík, Capital Region, Iceland
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Search for answers.


Kind and sensitive. Quiet like a mouse and curious like a cat.


I have been working on it for quite a while. But every time I discover something and get some answers I have been looking, a lot of new questions come to light. I travel to get answers, to meet new people and learn from them. And quiet often I learn something new about myself. People are different everywhere, different background, different culture, different color, but actually we are all the same. We are all in the same eternal circle of life.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I host while I can, not always able to, and usually only one at a time. Sometimes I get tired and take short break and when I feel like, I travel myself. I have chosen not to spend big money on a and fancy big house for living. But my place has some mysterious and strange soul.


I have hosted a few people, and have also surfed several times.


Sport, music, movies, traveling, culture and human behavior. Strange, unusual people interest me. Normal things can get boring.

  • arts
  • culture
  • marathon
  • running
  • movies
  • traveling
  • music
  • hiking
  • sports
  • healthy food
  • philosphy

Music, Movies, and Books

Sigurros, Tom Waitz. Blues, jazz, electronic music. All kind of music.
Movies, quality movies, Euro movies, French, Danish, Spanish, British, some american movies also of course. Woody Allen, Cohen brothers.
Books.. world literature, everything from ancient books to modern literature. Our Halldor Laxness, Samuel Becket, Hemmingway, Kafka some slavish writers, german and South american writers. But now not reading so much, my eyes are tired of much reading.. now I prefer to watch the movie instead !

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

1. Spending whole day in Agra, watching the sunlight constantly change the colors of the great Taj Mahal.
2. Going to Paris first time. Later going to Versailles on my honeymoon trip.
3. Discovering Asia, the charming culture, colors, the beauties and nice people living there. Discovering great China. My big love today!

Teach, Learn, Share

Still in the learning phase. I am ignorant person and probably not so wise man, and I lack knowledge about many things.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I don´t have much to teach others. So I share mostly my own ignorance and misunderstanding.


I do not accept requests for 1 single night.
When you send request, you must write my password in the request: NONNI.
If you don´t have the password, unfortunately I cannot host you.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, China, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Hong Kong, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Netherlands, Northern Ireland, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Russian Federation, Singapore, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, Turkey, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Venezuela, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In


Old School Badges

  • 2 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Jon’s full profile.

My Groups