Jo Nuno's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 7 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jo’s full profile.

Overview

  • 60 references 40 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Italian, Portuguese, Spanish; learning Arabic, Esperanto, French, Russian
  • 38, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • designer, creative and UX consultant
  • Bachelors Honors in Product Design
  • From Porto, Porto, Portugal
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

(Go to Couchers.org its the free alternative, run by community and needs new members - when I couldn't find hosts here, I've found it there)

I am a tripeiro living around Scotland for now. Growing too old to socialise, so I'm here to kind of force it. I'm I'm a quiet observer, equal parts melancholic and quirky, but with a head bubbling with ideas, curiosity, and random wo/anderings. I tend to get along well with older people and introverts, for the rest, I tend to keep in the background. I used to break up my toys to see what was inside and the analytical mind just got worst with age so I'm not fun at parties, I am happier letting my curiosity lead my life and exploring what I don't know and that goes from internet rabbit-holes to what's happening in my neighborhood. I also like to do hiking, muay thai/boxing, and hangout with cats and dogs. But most of free time i spent indoors not doing much, i think its also a way to enjoy life.

Often, I will join most meet up groups in the area I'm staying to just go to one or two meetings and then vanish. Being sold to the whole idea of think globally and act locally but finding it hard to actually act and blaming it on capitalism, not really sure if I grasp these giant concepts.

If I'm looking to hang out, my wish is to have interesting chat or activity like going explore the outdoors. I won't accept invites to hang out or host if I don't see any affinity.

INTP

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

1- for cultural exchange and free+safe place to spend the night.
2- if hosting, to give a stranger a free+safe place to spend the night. PLEASE don't feel like you have to 'give back' or even having to entertain me. It's ok if you are tired, I'm also an introvert and sometimes I just want to be by myself too.
3 -TO COMPLETE THE MAP

Interests

-stuff I don't know about
-challenging my views
-the world
-the underworld
-the weird
-easter eggs
- I always taste something new

  • arts
  • culture
  • crafts
  • philosophy
  • nature
  • freedom
  • sustainability
  • creativity
  • community
  • dark humor
  • curiosity
  • diversity
  • design thinking
  • solarpunk
  • allsubjects

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies: priority to European cinema, mostly French spoken. I have a crush for eastern European cinema, namely Kusturica. I also enjoy documentaries, especially about sociology or niches.
http://www.imdb.com/list/ls064080298/

Music: depends on mood and setting
https://listenbrainz.org/user/jonuno/
By the way look at all the genres that exist!:
http://everynoise.com/engenremap.html

Readings: Leonardo Da Vinci's notebooks; design theory; Saramago; 100years of solitude; odas elementales Neruda; desassossego, Pessoa; the dictionary of khazars, milorad pavic.
https://openlibrary.org/people/jonunol

Videogames - Shadow of Colossus, Metal Gear Solid 1, Zelda... Fun fact you'll find my name on the credits of Final Fantasy XV and DeusEx

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

A concert in a bathroom; hanging on an aeroplane's wing before jumping; diving in a pool and smashing my face in the bottom; being in a classroom that allowed pets; quitting a comfortable job with no notice to migrate; working with olive farmers and drinking moonshine with them; mountain trout fishing with my grandfather; sunset on the beach inside the sea with fish jumping around me

Teach, Learn, Share

I can 'teach' creativity to who thinks they are not creative, and some topics around freedom (digital, food, ...). Also, how to learn.

I still want to know more about: cinema, writing, mechanics, fishing, foraging, baking, permaculture, playing an instrument, construction, and paragliding.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can help you with little things like cooking, digital device maintenance, and... finding the meaning of life.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, England, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Malaysia, Morocco, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Scotland, Spain, Thailand, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

England, Italy, Portugal, Scotland, Thailand

Join Couchsurfing to see Jo’s full profile.

My Groups