Jordy Hopkins's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 80% response rate
  • Last login about 3 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jordy’s full profile.

Overview

  • 52 references 45 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 29, Male
  • Member since 2014
  • Traveling the world.
  • Associate of Arts and Science Degree
  • From Gig Harbor, WA, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hey everyone! After more than five years of traveling around the world I realized that I cannot have just one house and instead need a few homes in this world to really experience all life has to offer.

I just bought a piece of real estate with an amazing ocean view in Puerto Lopez, Ecuador. In the next couple years I plan to build a small house and have a small tropical dwarf fruit tree food forest.

For now all I can offer is camping but the lot has an incredible view and municipality water. You probably shouldn't drink the water without a filter but I haven't gotten the water report as of yet.

One of the main reasons I bought here is for parque national machalilla which is a ten minute bus ride. This place in my opinion is the nicest beach in Ecuador and has some of the best snorkeling on the Ecuador coast.

The guy I bought the lot from lives up the hill and has a pretty sweet office down the hill with some rentals suites, bathrooms, kitchen, Netflix.

Looking forward to building something and getting a chance to host and pay back all the amazing couch hosts I have had over the years!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I feel an obligation to travel the world to break the opinions that countries have about other each other. I feel like there are areas in the world that are unsafe to travel to, but that doesn't mean that the same country has no safe areas. Many people hear information from the media that makes them question the safety of traveling to foreign countries, but I believe that you can find good everywhere! Anywhere you can dream to travel you can safely get to, explore and return home in one piece.

Interests

The final frontier truly lies under the depths of the ocean which is why I am in love with is freediving

I love the Earth, my dream is to create a beautiful organic permaculture garden!

  • music
  • guitar
  • world music
  • ukulele
  • freediving
  • good food
  • meeting new people
  • world food
  • world peace
  • world travel
  • organic farming
  • drinking tea
  • disney
  • marijuana
  • drinking coffee
  • ecobuilding
  • beards
  • environmental protection
  • cooking and eating

Music, Movies, and Books

I am the 1% of people who actually likes every type of music. I feel that every song deserves respect and attention because so much went into the production of it.
My favorite genres of music are Classic Rock, Hard Rock, Reggae, Metal. Show me something new!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

On a whim I moved to the Island of Oahu in Hawaii with my Brother Jeff Hopkins and stayed for a year! This journey really put my life into perspective and made me realize the things in life that are truly important. Hawaii left me thirsting for more adventure!

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you a little melody on the guitar or ukulele.

I am a movie fanatic, I love almost every series of movies and am always down to chill out and watch something I've never seen

I want to learn more about other cultures, so if you are from another culture then I'm most likely gonna have a ton of questions for you. Teach me something about your culture and I'll do the same!

What I Can Share with Hosts

I would like nothing more to share what I have learned in this life with others so that they may also share what they know with me!

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Canada, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Germany, Greece, Haiti, Italy, Macedonia, Mexico, Montenegro, Netherlands, Nicaragua, Norway, Panama, Puerto Rico, Slovenia, Spain, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Jordy’s full profile.

My Groups