Accepting Guests

  • 96% response rate
  • Last login 4 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Joshua’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 24 References 18 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Dutch, Russian, Sign Language - American, Spanish
  • 29, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • Roads scholar
  • B.S. in Math and Computer Science from University of Dayton
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I will be traveling and unable to host until September.

==============================================

I'm a nursing student at Cleveland State University, and hope to become a travel nurse after I graduate. I've worked as a cook and a programmer before I started my studies. I'm on a constant self-improvement kick and I like to try new things. I'm friendly, respectful, and optimistic, and I love good conversation.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Couchsurfing is, bar none, the best way to travel and meet people. Instead of just staying in some hotel or with other travelers at a hostel, Couchsurfing lets you truly explore another city or another culture. By getting to know the people, you really get to know the place.

I've made many friends in many different places through Couchsurfing and I can't imagine any other way to travel.

Interests

My hobby is getting new hobbies. I keep a wide range of interests and cultivate them like a garden. Some of those hobbies are writing (NaNoWriMo!), hiking and camping, making (and playing) video games, brewing beer, playing volleyball and soccer, blacksmithing, woodworking, drawing, running marathons, learning languages, martial arts, improv comedy, and playing board games. I have a slight Go obsession (6 kyu) . I like volunteering and giving back to the community I live in. Right now, I'm walking dogs at the local animal shelter.

I've played guitar since I was 17 and have gotten pretty good. You can check out some of the work I've done at https://theayohs.bandcamp.com and https://joshgalecki.bandcamp.com.

  • culture
  • writing
  • singing
  • dining
  • cooking
  • beer
  • running
  • gardening
  • video games
  • board games
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • homebrewing
  • drawing
  • woodworking
  • guitar
  • piano
  • hiking
  • camping
  • soccer
  • volleyball
  • languages
  • nursing
  • software

Music, Movies, and Books

Musicwise, I listen to most everything - but most often punk, ska, jazz, blues, hip hop and folk. I love going to shows and hearing music live.

I read a lot. My favorite authors are Borges, Dumas, and Gaiman, and my favorite poets are cummings and Larkin.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Years ago, I played in the Cleveland High School Rockoff, a 'battle of the bands'. It was the first time we performed, but the crowd was singing along with us. Hearing a crowd singing the lyrics you wrote is an amazing experience.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach people guitar and a little bit of piano.

One of my goals in life is to be able to have a good conversation with absolutely anyone. Because of this, I've learned a little bit about a lot of things, and I'm always happy to learn more. If you're passionate about anything, then I want to learn about it from you.

Our house has a couple of shelves devoted just to tea. You will certainly be offered some if you stay here :)

What I Can Share with Hosts

I love cooking and the fantastic variety of food the world contains. I'm happy to cook an American meal for visitors or for hosts, and I'm happy to learn about different styles of cooking.

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Canada, France, Mexico, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Ireland, United States

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Joshua’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups