Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 9 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Juhana’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 32 References 22 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Finnish; learning Japanese, Swedish
  • 33, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • Translation, electronic music
  • University MA (translation), graduating soonish
  • From Helsinki, Finland
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

level up

ABOUT ME

Hi! I'm Juhana. Since that's not the most convenient name to pronounce in English, I've also been called JJ, Jay, Johann, Jurgan, Yuhannah, John and so on, so pick one. Or make something up, that's what everyone else does.

The final A in "Juhana" sounds feminine to a lot of English speakers, but I'm still a guy. I like people who get over it early in the conversation.

I'm officially occupied as a Finnish-to-English translator and a soon-to-graduate university student, but I also spend a lot of time around electronic music, and tend to keep up several small hobbies at the same time. So I know a little about a lot of things, but haven't yet really decided what I want to master when I grow up.

When asked about my outlook on life, I truthfully list things like environmentalism, vegetarianism, atheism, polyamory, peace and love and such, which easily gets me labeled as a some sort of urban hippie. A lot of my clothes are black though, which easily gets me labeled as some sort of metal gothy whatever scary person. Then again, my dayjob at the office makes me seem like a proper middle-class worker, and my computer hobbies make me seem kind of geeky. I can be outgoing one day and kinda introverted the next. As a result, it's not immediately obvious which label I should be stamped with, which confuses some people and amuses me to a degree.

People keep telling me I have a sense of humour, but they're probably lying. Also, of all the people I've met, two have called me intelligent but they have really low standards and were drunk at the time.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

When I get to go outside Finland, I try to avoid having absolutely everything planned out. And instead of, for example, reading travel guides and finding out what the top 5 local museums or restaurants are, for me it's much more enjoyable to just hang out with local people and do whatever everyday thing they like doing. That's my number 1 reason for liking CS.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Yes.

Interests

Learning is fun, so I'm very easy to lure into trying out new things and I consume plenty of documentaries and TED talks. I'm a computer geek, so I attend demo parties, spend a lot of time all around the Internets and I play a lot of games. By "a lot" I mean I have for example around 2000 hours total in Steam games. (Yikes, Steam shouldn't just go and tell it to me like that, that's cruel.)

Electronic music and the guitar are also close to my heart; I've been composing for many years ( http://byproductmusic.net ) and like to go to electronic music events. Extra points if they're underground ones. I play live and DJ gigs when I get the chance, and help organise events every now and then.

I'm by no means an athlete but I try to stay somewhat in shape by wallclimbing and by preferring my bicycle and feet over cars. I'm environmentally and ethically conscious and try to set a good example without getting too preachy about it. I'm also fascinated by realities and experiences beyond our everyday ones, so if one is speaking for example about lucid dreaming, enlightening mental experiences, mind-altering substances or the like, I'm listening attentively.

I'm also a bit of a dog person, as my parents have had dogs around longer than they've had me. 2 boxers and a dalmatian. Woof. (See, I can talk dog language.) Not a stranger with cats either.

  • cats
  • dogs
  • documentaries
  • athlete
  • partying
  • clothing
  • reading
  • traveling
  • cars
  • music
  • electronic music
  • guitar
  • languages

Music, Movies, and Books

Yes.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Yes.

Teach, Learn, Share

No!

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Canada, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, France, Germany, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Kenya, Latvia, Luxembourg, Monaco, Netherlands, Russian Federation, Sweden, Switzerland, Tanzania, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Finland, Russian Federation, Tanzania

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    4 Vouches
  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Juhana’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups