Juliane John's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login about 3 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Juliane’s full profile.

Overview

  • 4 references 3 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German
  • 37, Female
  • Member since 2017
  • Freelance Teacher
  • No education listed
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Until June 2019:
I'm on a longer trip from Europe to Asia (all by ferry, bus or train): started from Germany by ferry to Lithuania, then Latvia, took the Transsibirian Railway all the way from Moscow to Vladivostik (with lots of stops), travelled to South Korea, Indonesia (Java) and Singapore and I'm now in Malaysian Borneo where I made a dream come true by seeing Orang Utans in the wild!

Generally, I'm more of an introvert meaning I prefer a good deep conversation over small talk, watching the sunset over partying, having a beer/wine with one person over a big group meet-up. But I also need my me-time to recharge. So I would say I'm social rather in doses as opposed to all the time. Hence I only couchsurf now and then. I'm good at finding my own things to do and exploring a place if hosts are busy during the day.

I feel inclined to describe myself as open-minded, self-reliant, curios, liberal and a bit of a rebel at heart but that's probably true for 90% of couchsurfers. People have said I'm quite funny while at the same time I have a hard time recognising sarcasm and irony. I care a lot about the environment trying to limit my plastic use to the best of my ability and travelling over land whenever possible. I'm also a feminist as I believe that women and men should be treated equally and we all deserve the same opportunities in life!

When I travel, I like a good mix of things: cities and nature, exploring on my own and hanging out with people. I've also become a bit of a foodie in Asia with all the great foods to try there.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I'd love to meet fellow travellers and learn more about the local culture. I often stay in hostels but that kinda keeps you in a bubble.

Interests

  • animals
  • cats
  • vegetarian
  • vegan
  • traveling
  • metal music
  • hiking
  • surfing
  • food
  • feminism
  • game of thrones
  • vietnamese food
  • meaningful conversation
  • balkans
  • animals and nature
  • off beat cities

Music, Movies, and Books

I love metal (anything from Scandinavia and especially Finland), will also listen to any good handmade music but please spare me any pop music (except 90's euro dance, that's my guilty pleasure once in a while).

I feel I'm much more open to different music when I travel, I will listen to anything local just to get a feeling for the country and local music.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Sat on the Iron Throne!

Hiked up a mountain in Kotor, Montenegro while meeting local free-roaming goats and cows!

What I Can Share with Hosts

Lots of tips on Europe, how and where to travel, how to plan your trip. I'm also an English and German teacher so I can help with language related things.

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Austria, Belgium, Brunei Darussalam, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, England, Estonia, Finland, France, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Kosovo, Latvia, Lithuania, Macedonia, Malaysia, Montenegro, Netherlands, Norway, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Russian Federation, Singapore, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Thailand, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Finland, Germany, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Juliane’s full profile.

My Groups