Justin McDevitt's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Accepting Guests

  • Last login almost 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Justin’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in Spanish; learning French, German, Italian, Swedish
  • 35, Male
  • Member since 2014
  • Student; lawyer
  • BA, JD, MA
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 75% complete

About Me

I'm a pretty well-rounded guy, I think. Grew up in Texas, U.S., at first in the country and then in the city. I've worked in all kinds of places, including budget management of some construction projects in Iraq. After that, I decided to go back to school, so I went to law school in Chicago, got my degree and passed the bar exam. Then I decided to go to MORE school, so I'm in the process of getting my doctorate in Political Science. I study religion and democracy, but I don't have strong beliefs of my own about how those two should interact. I'm very easygoing and love to learn and listen to the lives of other people. Also a fairly decent storyteller and can make you laugh.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

The classical ideal of hospitality is very important to me, and always has been. From the traditional Southern hospitality I grew up with in Texas, traced all the way back to the days of Homer and Moses, I believe we're all fellow travelers in life. More than that, life is richer when you welcome others into your home and are welcomed yourself as well. Growing up, my family would always give people a place to say during holidays if they needed it. Now that I'm older, I've tried to do the same, not to mention all the times I've been welcomed into the homes of others and have received their hospitality. Couchsurfing is a great way to live out that idea and to share interests and experiences with your fellow travelers through life!

Interests

I have a huge spectrum of interests: from sports (basketball, running, a little bit of everything) and the outdoors (hiking, camping, nature photography), to nerdy stuff (reading, writing, trivia), to social stuff (throwing parties, good beer, random adventures), to more domestic stuff (cooking, making cocktails, creative home projects), as well as arts and entertainment (indie folk/rock music, good movies, playing guitar and piano).

  • arts
  • writing
  • photography
  • cooking
  • beer
  • cocktails
  • running
  • partying
  • trivia
  • movies
  • reading
  • music
  • rock music
  • guitar
  • piano
  • outdoor activities
  • hiking
  • backpacking
  • camping
  • sports
  • basketball
  • law
  • political science
  • religion
  • science

Music, Movies, and Books

I grew up in the South of the U.S., so I have a soft spot for folk/acoustic music over electronic music. Bands I like: Fleet Foxes, The Avett Brothers, The Head and the Heart, The Civil Wars, Noah and the Whale, Band of Horses, Rogue Wave, Mumford and Sons, Bon Iver, First Aid Kit, The Spring Standards, Dawes, Athlete, BellX1. Solo artists I like: M. Ward, Alexi Murdoch, Damien Rice, Lisa Hannigan, Glen Hansard, Andrew Bird, Imogen Heap. I also dig soundtrack and classical music.

Movies, yeah, I can't even name them all. Some good U.S. films, but lots of foreign films too. Too many to name. Just ask me.

Books: same problem. I own a small library and read about 2 novels a week. So yeah, mostly fiction. I read non-fiction for my job, so I don't read it for fun. I have a Top 100 list of books I've read, but it's too long to put here. Ask me that too.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I'm grateful for the things I've done, and too often it seems like people brag about their adventures. That's kind of a turn-off, but I'll mention some cool small things I've done. I spent a week at a monastery in Ireland. Another week at an orphanage in Bangladesh. A squid squirted ink on my backpack in Thailand. I ate alpaca in Peru and ostrich in Kenya. I talked my way out of paying a bribe to a government official in Zanzibar and talked my way into a meeting with a cabinet secretary in Dar Es Salaam. I swam in Lake Superior with tiny icebergs. I've been to Scotland and Mexico each five times. I also once at a paper plate on a dare.

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm not sure what this means, so I'll say that all three of those things sound good.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I love cooking, so if you host me or I host you I can probably cook something for you. Same with making pretty good cocktails. I also love hearing people's experiences and journeys and where they come from in life. You can even tell me your problems, I'm a good listener and ask good questions. I like to know what makes people who they are. I'm clean and organized as well.

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Bangladesh, Canada, Chile, England, France, Iceland, Ireland, Kenya, Mexico, Nepal, Netherlands, Peru, Scotland, Tanzania, Thailand, United Arab Emirates

Countries I’ve Lived In

Iraq, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Justin’s full profile. It’s free!