Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login almost 4 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see KAOXONI’s full profile.


  • 60 references 37 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German; learning French, Latin, Sign Language - German
  • 46, Female
  • Member since 2006
  • Back-to-Work Mom
  • Continuously curious and learning
  • From Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


making space in our home for Baby #2, moving to Bochum in spring 2016.


Whoa, hoo... I'm a general store. Always struggling a bit to focus, as there's so much to choose from. I like colours. I like contrasts. I love silent noises and roaring slilence. I hate rivalry and destructivity. I'm not into numbers, and I can't say if my age fits my person. Sometimes I'm the last to know what's up with me so why do you ask? Meet me and find out...


_0__Every heart is a revolutionary cell.
_1__Being yourself, whatever that is, can be fully expressed only in relation to another being.
_2__I suspect persons who claim to be "normal". Everybody is normal until you get to know them. And I appreciate this fact!
_3__Did you know God believes in us? That's why we're here.
_4__ There are at least two conditions we cannot escape: The passage of time, and gravity. The choice we have is to make them work for or against us.
_5__ Uhm... I really don't know... I have my experiences and I was taught a bit, but what I learned was not more than the conclusions I chose to draw from that input. So far, it all makes some sense, but maybe not in the only possible way.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


Currently as a sympathizing sleeper with a history in hosting, travelling and translation


pre-couchsurfing: 1996! stayed for a weekend with three young men in Berlin whom I only knew from chat and mail. Which was incomparably spartanic, viewn from to today's info amount and speed, remember...?!
:) 2006 - Now I've only just begun hosting couch surfers and hospitality clubbers.
__July 2006 ...Yay! Made it to the Euro-Collective, met so many wonderful people there, including my first wonderful host ADY. I'm still wearing that participant wristband, wondering if I might lose my teeth first...__December 2006 inclined to Duke's and Ulf's peer pressure to co-host a meeting in Cologne. First I feared it would be a lot of organizing stress which I'm really not made for. Now that it's over and was just amazing, I fear it will turn out to be addictive. went to the HC wintercamp in Warsaw, Poland around New Year 2007 together with Christian and had a blast surfing Marcin's and Chris' couches in Warsaw and on our way back in __January 2007 crashed on Kaj Wibier's floor in Berlin at late night without even meeting this cool host in person. All we met were a flatmate and some more floor-sleeping surfers, namely Andreas, Sebastian, Guylherme and Henrike. Only days after that, couchsurfed with Stefan after talking into the wee hours at his flat.
...and here's where I lost track of the listing. But anyways: Isn't this actually what the references are for?


Currently I'm mostly into sewing and reading, I used to be a choir singer for half my life, and I engaged in scouting in my twenties and I tried some gardening from 2011 to 2014 and would like to continue somewhere else sometime later.

Generally I enjoy touching nature, simplifying life, complicating life, seizing moments and eventually writing some down..., Music (Singing, Guitar 'n' stuff... kazoo, noseflute, recorder, cajón, darbuka, spoons, bottles, cans, whatever... listening to almost every kind of music, especially "hand made"),

  • writing
  • singing
  • cooking
  • gardening
  • reading
  • drawing
  • music
  • personal development
  • children
  • scouting
  • foraging

Music, Movies, and Books

MOVIES: Koyaanisquatsi. Delicatessen; Monsters Inc.; Addams' Family (values); Dumbo; Harold And Maude; Wallace And Gromit; Tiger And Dragon; Moulin Rouge. Spaceballs; Amélie; Billy Elliot; Rabbit-Proof Fence; Die kommenden Tage; The Martian (well, actually I read the book first)
TV: Futurama; Sendung mit der Maus; King of the Hill; IT Crowd -- We actually got no TV at home, leaving us more time to pursue our own hobbies and watch the the kid(s) grow, but far out of touch with the current programme.
Free music, children's songs, Beach Boys, Explosions in the Sky, Take6, Gerhard Schoene, some unknown buskers, acapella, ballads, world music, local dialect bands, jazz, classic rock, symphonic, unplugged, selfmade, hi-fi, lo-fi ...so many more!!
BOOKS are legion...
some recommendations:
Schiffbuch mit Tiger (Life of Pi)
Driss Chraibi's "La Civilisation, Ma Mère!" Erich Fromm's Art of Loving, discovery stories such as Daniel Kehlmann's "Die Vermessung der Welt" (Measuring The World), ...here those I'd not want to miss: Mike Yakonelli's "Messy Spirituality", Stephan Rechtschaffen's "Time Shifting", Antoine de Saint-Exupéry's Petit Prince, Maurice Sendak's "Wo die wilden Kerle wohnen"(Where The Wild Things Are), Victor Hugo's Les Miserables, and the Bible (though no longer in regular use, it had a big influence on me once as a very heavy and geeky user, and I still draw from that); Douglas Adam's "Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy"-five-volume-"trilogy" (read twice); Harald Welzer's "Selbst denken. Eine Anleitung zum Widerstand", Michael Ende's "Momo"; Jean Ziegler's "Ändere die Welt";

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Survived Septicemia at a 10% chance. (Still trying to figure out what best to make of that second life)

Teach, Learn, Share

* share some insights into the couchsurfing jungle (I can tell a bit of the good old days, old school, old spirit, and you might brief me about the new state of the nation, okay?)
* Learn to travel light.
* Learn your favourite songs. Share mine.
* Learn to play a musical saw.
* Learn to handle pois
* Learn and share about edible wild plants
* Find out about the games children play on Earth.
* Share scouting skills? Learn more?
* Teach absolute beginners Uriah Heep's "Lady in Black" on the guitar - at a high success rate so far :D
* Have a wreck of a back from the pack? - Tell me! Massage was my main occupation during the Eisenstadt Collective, and once the rumour's spread, go ahead...

What I Can Share with Hosts

do chores, cook a meal, look after the kid(s)... or share ideas/knowledge, lend an ear...

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Hungary, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Poland, Turkey

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Germany, New Zealand

Old School Badges

  • 36 Vouches
  • Pioneer Badge
  • Vienna Collective

Join Couchsurfing to see KAOXONI’s full profile.

My Groups