Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 0% response rate
  • Last login 4 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Kara’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 50 References 34 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Italian
  • 25, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • traveler
  • No education listed
  • From Hillview, Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

improve building skills, and improve my massage skills.

ABOUT ME

i don't know everything about myself. but here is a bit i do know, i'm kara and i'm not sure where i'm going but i really love where i am. i've been out of canada since april 2010, and intend to continue moving. i am embracing a freedom i have always dreamt of and it is bitter sweet in the most beautiful ways. since 2013 i have been working as a massage therapist i'm most interested in people and their alternative ways of living. i'm trying to break the cycle of consumerism in my life and live for free as much as possible. without those materials i've learnt to share the genuine and fundamental things in life with the wonderful people i meet:). did i mention im half-blood scrappy ass rowdy muthafucka? Well I am.

PHILOSOPHY

for what it's worth, it's never too late or too early to be whoever you want to be. there's no time limit, stop whenever you want. you can change or stay the same, there are no rules to this thing. we can make the best or the worst of it. i hope you make the best of it. and i hope you see things that startle you. i hope you feel things you never felt before. i hope you meet people with a different point of view. i hope you live a life you're proud of. if you find that you're not, i hope you have the strength to start all over again.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VrKB6SGFPu8

---
everything is a cycle, you've got to let it come to you
and when it does you will know what to do.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

i surf, host and meet with people and share what i have and can.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

i've surfed, hosted, met for drinks, and attended meetings - each experience is different and special.

Interests

listening and talking, the art of not giving a fuck, laughing, meditation, massage, nature, hiking, natural healing, sewing, wool working, photography, painting/illustraton, history, philosophy, literature, music/live music, crafts, water, moon, bare feet, minimalism, listening to stories, new friends and strangers that feel like old friends, poi, warm hearts, free education- you know the kind that you learn by doing and experiencing? yeah that kind.

  • dogs
  • arts
  • literature
  • photography
  • education
  • massage therapy
  • meditation
  • drinking
  • crafts
  • socializing
  • painting
  • minimalism
  • music
  • live music
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • teaching
  • history

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies: Kenneth Branagh's Hamlet, little mis sunshine
Music: Conor Oberst, Aesop Rock, Mr.Key, Outkast, Andrew Bird, Modest Mouse, Die Antwoord, Max Normal.Tv,
Books: Shakespeare- Hamlet, MacBeth . Jeanette Walls- The Glass Castle, Half Broke Horses.
I love podcasts, especially NWYC's Radiolab- fucking genius.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

The two most amazing things I've seen: doing shit i want, my dogs' smile and the road from a strangers passenger seat.
The most amazing thing i've done: loved, travelled completely independently, practiced a depth to massage therapy that most people do not even know of.

Teach, Learn, Share

I am willing and wanting to learn anything that you can teach!
I want to learn about permaculture, massage, natural healing and so on.
And I willing to teach anything I may know!

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Canada, China, Croatia, Denmark, Greece, Hong Kong, India, Japan, Macedonia, Malaysia, Nepal, Netherlands, Romania, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, Hong Kong, Italy, Serbia, Singapore

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    5 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Kara’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups