Kara's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • Last login 3 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Kara’s full profile.

Overview

  • 55 references 45 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French
  • 31, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • Student - Étudiante
  • Dalhousie University
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Completed a Bachelor of Urban Planning and Sustainability, working on a masters of Geography at McGill. Trying to save the world one 🚲 at a time and make our communities a better place for everyone.

**Please read the home section. I live with 3 other people and it is imperative that you are respectful of our home and my roommates**

***When you send a couch request, please tell me what you are doing to make this world a better place. IF YOU DON'T TAKE TIME FOR THIS, I DON'T HAVE TIME TO HOST YOU.***

ABOUT ME

I am continually amazed by this world. There are so many small and beautiful, as well as grand and wonderful things to discover. However, in a world that is full of fear, distrust, and division, I think that Couchsurfing plays an important role in shattering people's assumptions of what is and bringing us together. We can all contribute to compassion, understanding, and respect together. Please help me convince others that this world still has hope.

PHILOSOPHY

"Why should we be in such desperate haste to succeed and in such desperate enterprises? If a man does not keep pace with his companions, perhaps it is because he hears a different drummer." Henry David Thoreau

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I enjoy traveling whenever I can squeeze it in, also I am happy to host respectful, fellow travelers, allowing my schedule and room mate’s schedules.

Also, we are happy to provide a safe and comfortable space for solo female travellers, LGBTQ2+ folks, people with disabilities (although we have a lot of stairs to our place), couples, and anyone needing some rest.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I have met so many wonderful people through this site. I have had strangers open their homes to me, and I have had people from all over the globe bring their world to me.

Interests

I love life.
I love nature, being in it, and learning about it.
I love biking and the freedom it provides me.
I love great conversations and learning new things.
I love trying new things, meeting new people, and living life in the now.
I love music and its company.
I love yoga and it's grounding abilities.
I love crafting and making projects with others!

  • yoga
  • gardening
  • traveling
  • knitting
  • music
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • camping
  • sustainability
  • urban planning
  • diy projects
  • tactical urbanism
  • climate change adaptation
  • active transportation

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: Anything from Mongolian throat singing to the product of a jam circle. As long as it's not commercial garbage I'm good!
Books: Generally non-fiction.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

So many gems to list!

One of my fondest Canadian memories is from when I was living on Hornby Island in 2010. My fabulous landlords took me out on a short kayak paddle to Flora Island. On the way to Flora we spotted Orcas, the first of the season! Another woman who joined us said she had been waiting 25 years to see Hornby's Orcas! After they playfully passed by we docked on the shores of the small island. Perched on giant pieces of driftwood we had an amazing dinner, even complimented by wine. As the evening approached, the sun began to sink in the sky casting pastel oranges, pinks, and purples onto the horizon. As we paddled into the vibrantly reflective waters, behind us the moon hovered in it's entirety in the encroaching darkness of the night.
Purely magical.

One of my fondest international memories is from biking across Europe.
Let's share more amazing tales over a drink sometime!

Teach, Learn, Share

I have been studying French for almost 2 years now and just need to practice more (it's hard when you live in an English bubble in a French city). So if you speak French and are patient let me know! :)
I would also like to start studying Spanish...I'm super base level right now, but if your patient, let me know!
Also, I am happy to help and patient with people trying to improve their English.

I can also offer some knowledge on biking, gardening, sustainability, various outdoor activities, and many other topics!

What I Can Share with Hosts

My eternal gratitude, help around the house, meals, a listening ear, outsider perspective, and calming vibes.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, Cambodia, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Indonesia, Laos, Latvia, Lithuania, Malaysia, Mexico, Myanmar, Netherlands, Norway, Romania, Singapore, Slovakia, Sweden, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, India, New Zealand

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    4 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Kara’s full profile.

My Groups