Jon Shock's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 98% response rate
  • Last login 14 minutes ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jon’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 230 References 174 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Spanish; learning Chinese, French, German, Russian, Spanish
  • 38, Male
  • Member since 2006
  • Theoretical physics researcher
  • PhD
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Please read:

I get a lot of request. Please show that you have read my profile before messaging me.

In addition, over the last few months I have had a number of couchsurfers who have booked in, and then not shown up, eventually telling me that they had internet troubles. Unless you are really in the middle of nowhere, you can always borrow someone else's phone to send me a message to tell me that you are not coming. If you don't let me know that you are not coming, I will leave a reference saying so.

CURRENT MISSION

Enjoy living within and experiencing different cultures, trying new tastes, hearing new sounds, seeing sights that blow me away.

ABOUT ME

I'm a theoretical physicist trying to make his way in this confusing universe. I spent seven years living in a few different countries working in various universities, learning and researching as I went, attempting to pick up the local languages, meet as many interesting people and have as many amazing experiences as possible. I'm now settled in Cape Town and working as a lecturer.

For a bit more of an idea about what makes me get up every morning, take a look at my blog (www.jonstraveladventures.blogspot.com - now sadly rather neglected).

PHILOSOPHY

You rarely regret the things you do. You usually regret the things you don't do.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Lots of hosting. I've hosted well over 300 people so far and it's been an incredible experience.

Please read my profile if you want to stay. I usually get a dozen or so requests a week and the majority of them are impersonal bulk emails. You're much more likely to get a positive response with a personal request.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I host a lot these days and have had so many wonderful conversations, meals, laughs, and experiences with people from around the world that it has really brought a new dimension of richness to my life. It's a wonderful way to bridge gaps and to bring people together. I hope to do more surfing myself in the future, but for now I'm very happy to host whenever I can.

Interests

Understanding, traveling, eating, reading, movies, music, photographing, people, places, culture, sports, sleeping, waking, sitting, dancing, talking, drinking...the normal and then some more.

  • culture
  • photography
  • dancing
  • recipes
  • walking
  • drinking
  • movies
  • reading
  • traveling
  • blogging
  • music
  • languages
  • physics
  • mountains
  • gym

Music, Movies, and Books

Books: Steinbeck, Marquez, Murakami, Hemmingway, Green, Kundera, Rushdie, Moore, Joyce, Roy, David Mitchel, confusing and thought provoking...

Movies: Kim Ki Duk, Wong Kar Wai, Herzog, Moodyson, Miike, the weird and the wonderful...

Music: The Beatles, Nina Simone, Bob Dylan, Radiohead, Amon Tobin, , The Roots, Holly Golightly, David Bowie, Jurassic 5, Sonic Youth, Miles Davis, Ryan Adams, Fats Waller, Susumu Yokota, DJ Shadow, Red Hot Chili Peppers, Billie Holiday, Plaid, Louis Armstrong, Linton Kwesi Johnson, Jackson C Frank, The Libertines, Badly Drawn Boy, The Kinks, Arvo Pärt, Beastie Boys, Aphex Twin, Oscar Peterson, Nightmares on Wax, Bonnie 'Prince' Billy, Duke Ellington, Boards of Canada, Bert Jansch, John Coltrane, Elastica, Röyksopp, Kings of Leon, Daft Punk, Tom Waits, Four Tet

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Living in china for two years, travelling in Sichuan, walking through the temples of Kyoto and the Kimberley mountains in Australia, drinking in the bars in Tokyo and stumbling through the morning light of Beijing, cycling from Land´s End to John O´groats - that may seem like more than one but it's all part and parcel of the same thing.

One of my trips: http://jonstraveladventures.blogspot.co.uk/2010/12/chinese-bus-tour-to-jiuzhaigou-or.html

Teach, Learn, Share

Teach: All you wanted to know about the universe but were afraid to ask - well, try me anyway. I love to explain the work I do, and try to enthuse people about how incredible the workings of our world really are!

Learn: About cultures, people, views, languages, music. If you can teach me home recipes I'm always on the lookout.

I'd love to learn some yoga too, and vegetarian cooking.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I've hosted surfers from:

Europe: Austria, Belgium, Switzerland, Czech Republic, Germany, Denmark, Estonia, Spain, Finland, France, United Kingdom, Greece, Croatia, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Latvia, Macedonia, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Sweden, Russia

North America: Canada, Mexico, US

South America: Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Peru

Africa: Benin, Madagascar, Morocco, Nigeria, South Africa, Tunisia

Asia: China, Indonesia, Israel, India, Japan, South Korea, Mongolia, Malaysia, Taiwan, Hong Kong, Singapore

If you are from a country that I've never hosted anyone from, please get in contact!

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Cambodia, Chile, China, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Morocco, Mozambique, Netherlands, New Zealand, Poland, Portugal, Russian Federation, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Switzerland, Taiwan, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Belgium, China, Germany, South Africa, Spain, United Kingdom

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    38 Vouches
  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Jon’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups