Katherine Sowden's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login about 7 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Katherine’s full profile.

Overview

  • 34 references 19 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Indonesian; learning Portuguese
  • 32, Female
  • Member since 2015
  • Teacher/Actor/Singer
  • Bachelor of Music (Theatre) Master of Teaching
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hi, I'm Kat and I'm a musical theatre performer. I enjoy travelling a lot and meeting new people. I'm into art, beaches, singing, acting, playing guitar and animals. I'm a devoted Christian who takes part in church ministries and loves to share this with people. I am also a vegan and would prefer to have a vegan household if you surf with me, eat whatever you like when you're out and about :-).

Travelling is probably my 2nd most intense passion after acting. I've mainly been travelling within New South Wales which is also good because I never got the chance to when I was a kid. But I'm finally getting back into it.

I'm working my way through this beautiful world, inside and outside of Australia. I believe you learn the most about yourself when you're on the road/air/sea.

I've recently been able to travel more which is awesome, my last big trip was Spain and Portugal which was wonderful because I got to meet my dad's side of the family for the first time and I loved it so much that I went back again to witness my cousin getting married and now I really want to learn Portuguese to speak with my Avozinha. I have also gone on a lot of road trips around the area. I absolutely love my country.

I love the outdoors and enjoy kayaking, swimming, beaches, snorkelling and bushwalking. I also love animals and have a beautiful ginger cat called Chloe. She's super shy but will probably love you after a while. If you have a dog, I will make it my mission to be best friends with them after you of course. I also enjoy cooking with people. I never enjoy cooking for myself until the food is ready (because food is amazing) so I would love to have you around for dinner and maybe even learn how to cook food from your country.

I am married to my beautiful husband Will as of 1st July 2023.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I want to see the world and I also love meeting new people. Locals know much more than a travel guide brochure does. I love hostels because I get to hang out with other travellers and Airbnb and couch surfing is so much fun since I get to stay with locals. It's the best way to travel. To say I hate hotels is a lie because I also like to be alone as much as I love being with people.

I would love to meet up with you and hang out wherever you are in Sydney! I think that Sydney is an amazing place. I'm mostly free during the weekend and if given enough notice and if the destination appeals to me, we could go on a day trip or road trip because I love those.

Interests

Musicals, performing, singing, acting, watching movies, going to the beach, pubs, reading, stand-up comedy, bushwalking and nature, drinking wine and feeling fine.

  • animals
  • arts
  • singing
  • acting
  • wine
  • wine tasting
  • walking
  • pub crawls
  • movies
  • board games
  • reading
  • traveling
  • live music
  • guitar
  • hiking
  • swimming
  • tourism
  • language exchange
  • beaches
  • parks
  • stargazing
  • vegetarian food
  • church
  • vegan food
  • jamming
  • gardens
  • vegetarian cooking
  • musicals
  • vegan cooking
  • theatres
  • distilleries
  • walking in nature
  • portuguese language

Music, Movies, and Books

I love rock, musicals and jazz. I have quite a wide taste although I don't really like techno and electronica.
I love Disney movies. The Rush Hour franchise is also one of my favourites. I like a wide range of comedies, romance, horrors and fantasy films. Mostly I like movies that make me laugh, cry or jump. I have been enjoying reading crime books! I had a goal of reading a book a week but came across a 900 page book. It was impossible with full-time work but I'm trying to catch up during the holidays!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Going through an awake craniotomy! On a positive note, I also got to perform in my favourite musical, Avenue Q.

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm willing to learn any instrument. As a music teacher I can teach singing, basic piano and guitar. I'd love to learn a bowed string, brass or woodwind instrument.

What I Can Share with Hosts

My amazing sense of humour, I've got a few funny stories to share. Also, love talking about beliefs no matter what your view as long as the conversation is respectful.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, China, Czech Republic, England, Fiji, France, Germany, Indonesia, Italy, Malaysia, Netherlands, New Zealand, Portugal, Singapore, South Korea, Spain, Switzerland, Thailand, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia

Join Couchsurfing to see Katherine’s full profile.