Katya Hafich

Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 4 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Katya’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Student
  • Bachelors in Environmental Science and Latin American Stu...
  • From Albuquerque, NM
  • Profile 50% complete

About Me


Learn more about myself and the world around me- eternal student.


I grew up in the southern Rockies of the US, and love all things mountains. For my career-I want to research mountain hydrology (water science), and for enjoyment I love to backpack, mountain bike, road bike, snowboard, and anything that gets me outside.

I try to live my life with continuous challenge and passion-whether its the challenge of staying in one place and growing roots and community, or being continuously on the go and pushing my comfort zone. I just switched to the second realm on this 5 month journey through south america.


Live simply.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


As of now, I am a traveller and want to meet people on the road through couch surfing to get to know places better. When I get back to the states, I hope to host couch surfers and share whatever I have to offer.


I have friends who have hosted, and enjoyed going out with travellers on the town.


Outdoors, triathlons, cooking, local food, yoga teaching, good people.

Music, Movies, and Books

Favorite life books: Ishmael-Daniel Quinn, Siddhartha-Herman Hesse, anything by Rick Bass
Movies: Love Latin American Film, especially Central Station, Machuca
Music: Bluegrass, folk, indie. Lately into Passion Pit, Deertick, Reckless Kelly, Gotan Project, Bonobo, Bon Iver.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Watching glaciers calve into a fjord in Alaska, among a group of sea kayakers who paddled for 2 weeks enjoying the amazing Alaskan wilderness.

Teach, Learn, Share

Cooking-want to learn more and can teach a bit. Gardening. Can teach about backpacking/camping/biking/snowboarding. Can teach a bit about yoga, and want to learn more. Want to learn how to fish.

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Chile, Costa Rica, Mexico

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Katya’s full profile. It’s free!