Kayte  Fairfax's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login almost 3 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Kayte ’s full profile.

Overview

  • 10 references 7 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French
  • 51, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • Fulltime Mama!
  • University (Social Sciences) and creative writing
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Being fulltime Mama to my three kids

ABOUT ME

Very friendly, open, talkative, spontaneous 'people person', into family and community, a political 'leftie' who loves to stimulate my brain and soul with films, reading and good discussion about most things from major global issues, other cultures, religion or psychology to what people are wearing at the Oscars ;). I love travel, new ideas, meeting new people and swapping stories. Above all right now though I'm in my fifth year of being a fulltime Mama to three little monkeys ;)

PHILOSOPHY

'A revolution without dancing is not a revolution worth having'...

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I've always shared my couch with whoever needed it long before couch surfing began, and have been a surfer, but I'm excited to finally able to host in my own home for real!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Excellent experience couchsurfing with the famous film duo Richard and Hamish in London, and in the UK and Spain, and spent years staying on people's couches in the days before CS was born.

Interests

My kids! ... and...I'm passionate about all things cultural and political. Love film, photography, a good party, to dance/sing, reading, travelling - planning and dreaming about it, meeting new people, trying new languages, debating ideas and perspectives, campaigning on human, animal and planet issues and healthy living. Love nature, big vistas and big skys, love walking/cycling for hours with nowhere in particular to go...love living in community with all its diversity.

  • animals
  • culture
  • singing
  • photography
  • dancing
  • chocolate
  • walking
  • partying
  • politics
  • movies
  • reading
  • traveling
  • cycling
  • surfing
  • scuba diving
  • languages
  • psychology
  • religion

Music, Movies, and Books

Where to start! Pretty much all music except grunge and metal. Novels - historical fiction, magic realism, and anything else well-written! We need to talk about Kevin, Life of Pi, Down and out in Paris and London; The White Tiger; Shantaram, Hundred years of solitude. Fave authors: Barbara Kingsolver, Katherine Harrison, Allende, Atwood, Kundera, Alice Walker, Toni Morrison. Love Ditto for non-fiction. Films - watch at least one a week from world cinema to sci-fi! Coen Brothers, Almodovar, Jo-Jo Rabbit, A History of violence, No country for old men, The constant gardener, Capote. Sean Penn, Judi Dench, Javier Bardem, Victor Mortensen, James McAvoy. PS this list needs updating but I ain't got time!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Being a mother - three times over! Seeing two enormous 'stealth' stingray while scuba diving in South Africa. Holding a tiny baby in an Indian orphanage wishing I could give her a new life. Walking through the 'gateway to the Sahara' in 50 degrees heat with sand streching to infinity in front of me.

Teach, Learn, Share

Kiwi and Aussie culture, ideas, politics, laughter, fun and a special talent in how to how to eat chocolate without guilt. Oh and I know a thing or two about raising little kids if you're interested ;)

What I Can Share with Hosts

Wide ranging conversation, laughter, energy, general knowledge, travel stories, a genuine interest in them!

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Cambodia, Cook Islands, Ethiopia, Fiji, France, French Polynesia, Germany, Gibraltar, Guatemala, India, Italy, Kenya, Malaysia, Mexico, Morocco, Myanmar, Nepal, Netherlands, Oman, Rwanda, South Africa, Spain, Swaziland, Switzerland, Tanzania, Thailand, Uganda, United Arab Emirates, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, India, New Zealand, Singapore, United Kingdom

Old School Badges

  • 1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Kayte ’s full profile.

My Groups