Kevin Colston's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 4 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Kevin’s full profile.

Overview

  • 4 references
  • Fluent in English; learning Japanese, Korean
  • 36, Male
  • Member since 2013
  • Business Consultant
  • *Bachelors: History and Political Science *Masters: Bu...
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I'm a 33 year old American guy...I was in Korea for two years, and then I lived in Sydney, Australia for another year. Now I'm living in Chicago, Illinois (back in the U.S.). I enjoy sports, music, movies, reading, traveling, trying new / strange foods, and drinking (beer, coffee, whiskey, water). A normal weekend for me usually includes some sort of outdoor or athletic activity (I love all sports, especially basketball, soccer, baseball, and american football) followed by meeting up with friends for dinner and drinks. I'm really trying to learn Korean right now, but it's been slow going. I don't pick up on languages easily. I love to learn and I really enjoy experiencing new things, especially ones that get me out of my comfort zone. I'm a very flexible, easy going guy....That said, I'm good with making a sight-seeing plan for the day, or just wandering around and making something up as we go along.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I'm on couchsurfing in order to meet new people, see new places, and have great, new experiences. Obviously, the selfish aspect of couchsurfing is having the opportunity to visit new places for cheap haha...but really the main benefit for me is meeting new people...especially meeting people from different cultures and backgrounds. When I'm in a new place, I really try to do local things - make friends with local people, eat local food, etc.

Interests

When I travel, I love doing local things. I'm not much for touristy things or sight-seeing (a few exceptions). What I enjoy the most are meeting new people, making friends, and enjoying the same things that the locals do.

That being said, I love trying new, "strange" (to me), foods, trying local drinks, listening to live music, and experiencing new things. I also love sports.

  • beer
  • music
  • live music
  • sports
  • food
  • outdoors
  • drinks

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: I really enjoy a wide variety of music, but my favorite genres are indie pop / rock, EDM, mashups, and hip-hop. But I also enjoy oldies, classic rock, big band, and old country music.

Books: I'm currently reading Confessions of an Economic Hitman. It's been pretty enlightening. And I recently finished reading Nassim Taleb's The Black Swan (no, it's not the ballerina book). I'm really into non-fiction, nerdy books. I tried to read Thomas Pikkety's book Capital in the Twenty-First Century, but it was pretty intense and wordy (plus I found a nice summary online haha). I'm a huge history buff, so anything that references history, international relations, military history, economics - those are the kinds of books I enjoy. This past year, I read two of Malcolm Gladwell's books - The Outliers and The Tipping Point (both awesome). I'd like to read some more books about philosophy (esp. political philosophy) and how to improve our mind's capacity for learning/memorizing.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Canada, Japan, Mexico, Thailand

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, South Korea, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Kevin’s full profile.