Kevin Post's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified
  • Address Verified

Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 6 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Kevin’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 291 References 126 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Spanish; learning French, Turkish
  • 31, Male
  • Member since 2007
  • CAM Technician (dental)
  • Topographical maps
  • From Orlando, FL, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Taking full advantage of my surroundings while working towards my educational goals.

ABOUT ME

In my spare time I rock climb, snowboard, ride bikes, hike, play in lakes & streams, read books and check out art installations just to name a few activities I really enjoy doing.

I am married to my best friend Tomasa del Carmen (link to her profile here: https://www.couchsurfing.com/people/princesatomy).

I host because I like to feel as if I am traveling myself. I also know what it is like to travel on a budget and to find good hosts while on the road.

I surf because some of the strongest, most fulfilling relationships I have ever had were in someway linked to Couchsurfing. I could stay in a nice hotel with all of the ostentatious amenities I could ever ask for but I'd rather build memorable relationships instead.

Enough of this "About Me", let's meet for tea!

PHILOSOPHY

"I don't intend to tiptoe through life only to arrive safely at death." -Unknown

"Seek not after immortal life, but exhaust the fullness of the present." -Albert Camus

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

-I have hosted more than five hundred people (CS & non-CS) over a nine year period.
-I have organized dozens of CS events on three continents.
-I was once a Couchsurfing Ambassador for Orlando (U.S.A.) & Sabaneta (Colombia)

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Some of the strongest, most fulfilling relationships I have ever had were in someway linked to Couchsurfing.

Interests

Getting outdoors, languages, cultural exchange and the arts. More details when we meet in person.

  • arts
  • books
  • theater
  • architecture
  • concerts
  • cooking
  • traveling
  • woodworking
  • outdoor activities
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • camping
  • mountaineering
  • snowboarding
  • rock climbing
  • swimming
  • languages
  • carpentry
  • futurology
  • cabin life
  • keto diet

Music, Movies, and Books

A list of some books I am reading: www.goodreads.com/kevinpost

I look forward to hearing your while providing my own music suggestions. A few bands I would be stoked to see in concert right now would be Mínus (Iceland), Niyaz, HIM and Teoman.

Movies: I'm sure I'm missing some but this list attempts to compile movies that I have seen dozens of times and never tire of:

Musicals (Oliver, The Sound of Music, Wizard of Oz, Les Miserables, Hello Dolly, The Nightmare Before Christmas), 1980s action movies (too many to name), Comedies (Revenge of the Nerds, Life of Brian, Monty Python and the Holy Grail, The Other Guys), Sci-fi (Aliens, Star Wars Original Trilogy, Terminator 2 Judgement Day, The Matrix) Drama (Battle Royal, Raiders of the Lost Ark, Kelly's Heroes, Leon the Professional, Inglorious Bastards, Mustang, Captain Fantastic, The Good the Bad the Weird).

I've been into snowboarding, rock climbing and kung fu movies lately.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Expanded my comfort zone.

Teach, Learn, Share

LEARN:

I love learning languages so if you speak Turkish, French or Portuguese let me know! I'm open to learning other languages as well.

If you are able to teach me more technical aspect of alpinism/mountaineering you are guaranteed a place to crash or at least dinner on the house.

To improve my prospects I want to learn coding & data analysis. Currently learning Python but want to work up to more in demand programming languages.

I want to learn your perspective.

TEACH:

I can teach you English and Spanish.

I can teach you how to make delicious keto cuisine.

I can teach you how to write really good Couchsurfing requests.

I can teach you the basics of rock climbing and having fun in the backcountry.

I can teach you how to snowboard.

What I Can Share with Hosts

• I buy groceries & prepare meals for my host as a small appreciation for having me in their home. I always make an effort to take them out for dinner or tea if they have time for it.
• I give my hosts peace of mind that I am an independent traveler and will not significantly disrupt their daily routines.
• Spending time with my hosts is a top priority. I am not looking for free accommodations, I am looking to share knowledge, stories & experiences.
• I can bring beverages, foods, goods and services from the United States (Florida) upon request in advance. No guarantees of course.
• I most certainly will return the favor (host) when visiting where I live.

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Austria, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Denmark, Ecuador, France, Germany, Iraq, Italy, Netherlands, Peru, Sweden, Switzerland, Syrian Arab Republic, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Colombia, Ecuador, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    92 Vouches
  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Kevin’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups