Kirill Elagin's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login almost 4 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Kirill’s full profile.

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English, Russian; learning Esperanto, German, Italian
  • 32, Male
  • Member since 2016
  • Software Developer @ JetBrains Research
  • M.Sc. in Theoretical Computer Science
  • From St. Petersburg, Russia
  • Profile 75% complete

About Me

https://kir.elagin.me/

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

When traveling, I don’t really enjoy going to museums and popular tourist attractions. I am much more likely to walk around the city, especially the quiter neighbourhoods, where people actually live, not just work. This way I can better feel the mode of life and culture of the people of the country I am visiting.

As a result, I never stay at hotels, instead I tend to use Airbnb. Couchsurfing for me is the next step for me towards a more authentic experience, and I am just starting to use it. I feel a little uncomfortable right now, as I can’t give back to the compunity, but I do hope, that some day in the future, I will be able to accept CS guests too.

Interests

I am a Theoretical Computer Scientist by training, but I studied a lot of physics in school. I am also interested in philosophy, but not very successful in understanding it so far. Lately, I’ve been into biology and human anatomy, which highlighted my blatant ignorance in chemistry and I am actively looking to fill in the gaps in my education.

All my friends are engineers of various sorts, physicists or mathematicians, which is becoming a little boring. That is why I truly enjoy talking to people of non-technical background and would be happy to make new friends :).

  • biology
  • computer science
  • mathematics
  • physics

Teach, Learn, Share

I’ll be happy to chat about mathematics and science in general, its present and future. I believe, I can explain anything about computers and AI. On the other hand, I’m not very knowledgeable in the fields related to psychology, sociology and culture, but I’m eager to learn more about those.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Bulgaria, Canada, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Italy, Liechtenstein, Netherlands, Sweden

Countries I’ve Lived In

Russian Federation, Switzerland, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Kirill’s full profile.