Kris Bullock's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login almost 3 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Kris’s full profile.


  • 64 references 56 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English
  • 48, Other
  • Member since 2012
  • Author, blogger, IT Tech
  • High school, college, students of life
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hello travelers!

Just putting this up top so it's harder to miss :) Before you send us a request, please take the time to read our profile. We share a lot of info and have been hosts for a long time. Please take a moment to write a nice message - let us know who you are, and please answer these questions (most of which will make more sense after you read our profile):

1. What time will you be arriving/departing?
2. What are your plans while you're in Phoenix?
3. Do your bathroom products fit in with our chemical free/allergen free/toxic free house?
4. Are you okay with no alcohol, no cigarettes, and our quiet hours (noted in the profile)?


Katie: Female - 35 - She worked as a birth and postpartum doula for many years, and is a writer at heart. She is also an absolute wizard in the kitchen, and loves to clean (yes, really), take pictures and travel.

Kris: Male - 44 - He is a former business owner (IT Consulting)/Mortgage Holder/Slave to Society, but has abandoned that load of crap in favor of his mental and physical health. He likes writing and blogging, playing guitar & bass, traveling, making Kombucha, dabbling in cryptocurrency, and reading biographies of heroin addicted 80s rockers.

You can learn more about us at - our home on the interwebs.

We've both been self employed for over a decade and have run lots of small businesses, done web and graphic design, mastered email marketing, launched a mega e-course, hosted Airbnb for years, and lots of other things that go along with the hustle of trying to crack the entrepreneurial nut.

Kris lived in Anchorage, AK until he was 20, took a loooooooong road trip down to Phoenix and has been here for the last 20 years. Katie is a native of Phoenix (aside from a year living in NYC and other stints of extensive travel). We're quiet home-body types that value good conversation with a small group over large gatherings and small talk. We don't drink or smoke (cigarettes, that is....) and coffee makes our world go round so if you're into that we're happy to indulge. Our burr grinders and espresso machine are the light of our lives.

We live in a 3 bedroom condo that is upstairs. Our complex is very small, very quiet, and very green. There is a community pool, but it's not heated so is only nice to use in the summer time.

We are in a lovely, quiet neighborhood. There are a few places within walking distance of our house (1/2 a mile or so) -- a cafe with good breakfast and salads, a bakery, and a pizzeria. Within a two mile walk around a couple of grocery stores, a pharmacy, and other retail outlets and food options.

We are within half a mile of three major city bus lines and are surrounded by a few different bike paths.

PARKING: There is basically no parking at our complex. There are six guests spots, but there almost always taken. We are in a residential neighborhood, so you can usually find street parking within a block or two.

About our house: It's small and is mostly quiet and peaceful - we work from home, like to cook at home and are general home bodies. Please respect our quiet hours of 11pm to 8am - if you are going to be up in the morning early, or out at night later - just be extra considerate and mindful.

We are 420 friendly, but we are definitely not "stoners". We are not super into weed culture -- we just smoke a little weed sometimes. And it's usually at night. If you want to smoke here - please ask first. We are super careful about it as our complex is small and we have lots of cranky, old lady neighbors who like to make trouble.

We are also a non-toxic, allergen free home.

Common allergens are:

-artificial scents
-air fresheners
-cigarette smoke
-mainstream cleaning products
-mainstream personal hygiene products

We ask our guests please use only natural products during your stay. If you need a recommendation for a good brand of soap/shampoo, etc. - check out Dr. Bronner's. It's inexpensive and widely available.

We're pretty open minded, but our deal breakers are:

-Toxic crap, obviously. Don't use your axe body spray, your scented shampoo, etc.
-Bad attitudes, negative energy, anger, etc.
-Someone who is really into mainstream news media. We do not watch the news. We do however read it on our phones from time to time. We don't really talk about politics, the government, etc. Because frankly it's insane and depressing at the moment.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


By surfing and by hosting!


Have couchsurfed all over Europe. Started hosting in our house in Phoenix in February 2012 and have bonded with some amazing people! Hosting couch surfers has proven to be a very rewarding activity.


Reproductive health, cooking, baking, travel, midwifery, camping, cryptocurrency, computers, music, and about 10,000 other things.

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies: Anything by the Coen Brothers, Wes Anderson, or Greta Gerwig. TV: Mad Men, Flowers, Veep, Alone, Seinfeld, Fleabag, Catastrophe. Music: Anything from Dave Matthews to Tool to Abba to Beastie Boys to Queens of the Stone Age.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Frolicked on a naked farm in Tuscany

Teach, Learn, Share

Birth. Life. Making Yourself Happy First. Living according to yourself and not societal expectations.

What I Can Share with Hosts

We can both cook awesome food and we can share all kinds of details about our unconventional lifestyle. Plus I'm sure there are many more things. Just ask!

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, Denmark, England, France, Germany, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Mexico, Netherlands, Poland, Scotland, Spain, Sweden, United States, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Kris’s full profile.

My Groups