Kris Vanhemelryck's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 55% response rate
  • Last login 5 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Kris’s full profile.


  • 10 references 8 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Dutch, English, French, German, Spanish; learning Slovene, Spanish
  • 45, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • Journalist, teacher
  • Degree in Communication Management
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Laidback gay guy from Leuven, Belgium. Part-time magazine editor and teacher at Thomas More University College (Mechelen). Full-time traveller. I love to get lost on public transport. And chat up old ladies at local markets. Even though it's just to steal their jam recipes :)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Had some hosting experiences already with my boyfriend and we enjoyed them very much. We are also keen to meet other travellers when abroad.


Travelwise: riding a moped in Sapa (Vietnam), train surfing in Ella (Sri Lanka), hiking in Bosnia, swimming in Korcula (Croatia), eating pulpo in Galicia (Spain), walking on the ice lake in Bled (Slovenia) and just hanging around and watch the evening passegiata in Italy.

  • writing
  • books
  • cooking
  • politics
  • hiking
  • camping
  • travelling
  • snow
  • biking
  • brussels
  • gayfriendly
  • britpop
  • food lover
  • queer culture
  • magazines

Music, Movies, and Books

European cinema. Francois Ozon. David Leavitt. Hooverphonic. Weekend (the movie).

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I tried to surf for a full 3 days in Arugam Bay (Sri Lanka). Got up on the board three times (with the help of the instructor). Loved every second of it.

Teach, Learn, Share

Can somebody teach me how to drink Guinness (a beer with no foam on top, imagine!)?

What I Can Share with Hosts

A taste of our famous Belgian beers. Some of my grandmother's best recipes. Shower gel. And a complimentary tour of Leuven if I have the time.

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, China, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, England, Estonia, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Mexico, Morocco, Netherlands, Norway, Palestine, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Turkey, United Kingdom, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Belgium, Slovenia

Join Couchsurfing to see Kris’s full profile.

My Groups