Lauren Head Kyrychenko's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login about 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Lauren’s full profile.

Overview

  • 16 references 11 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Russian, Spanish
  • 29, Female
  • Member since 2014
  • Pediatrics Resident
  • I have an MD and am training to be a pediatrician.
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To experience as many cultures as possible and familiarize myself with our world.

ABOUT ME

I am a very outgoing person who loves meeting new people. I usually make friends quickly and appreciate people's differences, I think those differences are what make life and our interactions with other people interesting and worthwhile. Traveling is one of the best ways to get yourself out of your comfort zone and meet people you would never have met by staying home and just going about your daily routine.

I am a very determined, hard-working, and focused person; I know what I want in life and how hard I will have to work to achieve those goals.

I have been very involved in the arts in the past, especially music and theater. I was in a show choir in high school and have had roles in several musicals. While my research, studies, and job have all taken up too much time to allow me to be involved in theater or music now, I am still very passionate about them and love going to see a performance from time to time.

Some of my favorite activities are outdoors excursion - type activities: zip lining, sky diving, white water rafting, hiking, rock climbing, etc. I think these are all great ways to be adventurous and get an adrenaline rush without putting yourself in danger.

PHILOSOPHY

I think that everyone should be open to new experiences and not be afraid to learn about other ideas, opinions, cultures, etc. If we never look outside of ourselves or step outside our comfort zone, how are we supposed to grow as people?

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I have CouchSurfed in Paris, Madrid, Berlin, Belgium, Rome, Sydney, and London and had some wonderful experiences getting to know the people that I stayed with. Everyone brings their own personalities and experiences to the table and every CouchSurfing experience is different because of that. As a general rule, though, I think that just broadening your circle of friends and acquaintances helps to open you up to the world and get to know both it and yourself better.

Interests

I love travel and outdoor activities like ziplining, hiking, and white water rafting. I have really enjoying singing and being involved in theater in the past. I love animals.

  • animals
  • arts
  • culture
  • singing
  • theater
  • performing arts
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • music
  • outdoor activities
  • hiking
  • scuba diving
  • skydiving
  • zip-line
  • rock climbing
  • medicine
  • psychology
  • science

Music, Movies, and Books

The Lion King, Shawshank Redemption, Memento, and many more. I like dramas and when I'm in a silly mood a god romantic comedy. Action movies or movies that involve heists are also really interesting to me. I'm a big fan of Tarantino and his films.

I have a very eclectic taste in music and am open to almost any genre: R&B, country, jazz, rock, classical, you name it. I think that every genre has at least a few good songs and that I'll find something I like even if I can't categorically say that I like every song in the genre.

Redeeming Love, A Tale of Two Cities, The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo series, Mary Higgins Clarke novels, etc.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

One of the most adventurous experiences of my life was skydiving. That was a thrill that is hard to compare to anything else!

One of my favorite countries is Ireland. That may have to do with the fact that I spent a wonderful day on a farm there where I milked a cow, learned an Irish jig, and jumped into a bog. I also stayed with a family there for 4 days and fell in love with the culture.

Teach, Learn, Share

When visiting a country that is not my own, I've found that the best way to get the full experience is to get to know people who live there. I am happy to share my experiences and learn about others' as well.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Indianapolis has so much to offer, but some of my favorite places to visit/activities to do are:
- The Monument strip and/or canal in the middle of downtown
- Pretty much any restaurant or bar on Massachusetts Avenue (with my favorites being Ball + Biscuit, Union 50, Bakersfield, and The Garage)
- Newfields (museum and outdoor space)
- The Indiana State Museum, Eiteljorg, or History Museum on the canal
- Any outdoor event at Military Park
- Biking on the Monon and getting a drink at Half Liter
- Rock climbing at Epic or bouldering at North Mass
- Trivia up in Broad Ripple

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Bahamas, Belgium, Canada, Ecuador, England, France, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Honduras, Ireland, Italy, Jamaica, Netherlands, New Zealand, Portugal, Russian Federation, Scotland, South Korea, Spain, Switzerland, Vatican City State, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Lauren’s full profile.

My Groups