Júlio LG's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified

Accepting Guests

  • 90% response rate
  • Last login about 3 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Júlio’s full profile.

Overview

  • 86 references 73 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Portuguese, Spanish
  • 38, Male
  • Member since 2010
  • Fintech entrepreneur
  • Economics
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I really like to interact with my guests, that's why I'm more available to host on weekends, but send me your schedule and we'll figure it out :)
⚠️ If you're a remote worker, I'm happy to suggest spots/cafés to work in the city, not my apartment ❤️
🗓 2 nights is my sweet spot

I was born in Peru and after some traveling around, I've been living the last decade+ straight in Brazil where I run a fintech start-up. As of Dec 2021 I'm based in Rio de Janeiro.

Passionate to travel to off-the-beaten path and discover different ways of living around the world. Easy going, beach and outdoor lover, adventurous and interested in meeting new people to share life stories.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

By refering and sharing my CS experience.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Try to host when available and to stay with hosts around the world when possible as well.

Interests

Liberty. Tech. Finance. Neuroscience. Frugal traveling. Adventure. Outdoor activities

  • books
  • cooking
  • technology
  • traveling
  • minimalism
  • outdoor activities
  • sports
  • economics
  • philosophy
  • beaches
  • adventure
  • spirituality
  • innovation
  • healthy food
  • startups
  • futurism
  • fintech
  • behavioral economics

Music, Movies, and Books

Books: Theory of moral sentiments, the phenomenology of spirit, Human Action.
https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/7758357-julio-c

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

- Traveled India and ; South East Asia for 2 months.
- [Not sure if incredible... ] But I was locked in Guatemala for about 9 months during the pandemic in 2020 which made a good opportunity to get immerse into the culture.
- The alternative trekking by the river to get to Machu Picchu town.
- Running out of gasoline in a local boat in the middle of the Caribbean.
- Walking to the salt flats in Bolivia.
- Spending New Year´s in a Christian church service, Ile a Vache (Haiti) 2010
- Living for a month in Pakistan.
- Road trip California.
- Road trip Zambia-Malawi-Mozambique and back
- Live in communities in rural Africa.
- Bungee jumping in Zimbabwe.
- Ayahuasca in the Brazilian Amazon.
- Boat trip from Belem to Santarem, sleeping in a hammock for about a week.

Teach, Learn, Share

Peruvian food
A good workout

Behavioral economics/Neuroscience
Finance/tech/business development
Social innovation and development

What I Can Share with Hosts

Cooking! :)

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Australia, Belgium, Bolivia, Brazil, Cambodia, Chile, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Fiji, Guatemala, Haiti, India, Indonesia, Japan, Kenya, Malawi, Malaysia, Mexico, Mozambique, Pakistan, Panama, Peru, Philippines, South Africa, Tanzania, Thailand, Uganda, United Arab Emirates, United States, Uruguay, Zambia, Zimbabwe

Countries I’ve Lived In

Brazil, Chile, Guatemala, Haiti, Kenya, Pakistan, Peru, Tanzania, United States, Zambia

Old School Badges

  • 1 Vouch
  • Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Júlio’s full profile.

My Groups