Lena H.'s Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login about 12 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Lena’s full profile.

Overview

  • 9 references 6 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German; learning Estonian, Japanese, Russian
  • 25, Female
  • Member since 2017
  • No occupation listed
  • No education listed
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

NB! Friends - when you're asking me to host you, I'd actually appreciate it if you could introduce yourself briefly - in whatever way you like - or add a bit of information about what you're up to when coming to Tallinn (instead of simply "can you host me?"). I'm not some kind of hotel and I am actually interested in the person that will come to stay at my place :) Thank you for your understanding!

Hi there -

I am currently a bit of an educational nomad in both formal and informal ways. In 2016-2017, I participated in a long-term European Voluntary Service project at the rehabilitation centre for torture victims in Chisinau, Moldova, which has been one of the most insightful periods of my lifetime so far. In the past few years, I have also studied in Germany (where my roots are), in Russia (which were some of the happiest times I have ever had), in Finland (where I explored new mechanisms of self-efficacy), and Estonia - my newfound home. Currently, I also participate in a research project in Canada - unfortunately, only in a virtual format in our brave new Covid-world. In addition to that, I hope to learn even more when going to Bosnia-Herzegovina for another volunteering experience later this year. This year, I am finishing my Liberal Arts and Sciences degree, where I mostly focus on political economy. Broadly speaking, though, I am interested in a wide range of topics and issues and how they interconnect.

I assume I am quite open-minded and adventurous. I enjoy being around people - life is simply way more fun this way and there is so much to learn. Something I am currently working on and that I would like to further improve is to have conversations in ways that all parties involved gain from it, be it from insights, the connections one draws, or something along those lines, especially when there are people who have widely differing views.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Because it's the people that make places special for me.

Music, Movies, and Books

No favourites in particular, but I like reading biographies as well as movies and books which involve some historical, political or social background. In general, I like reading books and watching movies that provide thought-provoking impulses.

Music differs according to my mood and attitude, so I like almost everything... But any song is better in its rock/metal version to me!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Being alive? Heheh

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, China, Denmark, Latvia, Lithuania, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russian Federation, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Estonia, Germany, Moldova, Russian Federation

Join Couchsurfing to see Lena’s full profile.

My Groups