Lex Plantenga's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 14 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Lex’s full profile.

Overview

  • 25 references 14 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Dutch, English; learning German
  • 20, Male
  • Member since 2021
  • Physics student
  • University of Leiden
  • From Zoetermeer, South Holland, Netherlands
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hi! I'm Lex and it's great to meet you.

In short: having travelled by myself last summer through Scandinavia for the first time, I will once again take a huge train backpacking trip throughout Great Britain (not forgetting Ireland)!

In more detail: last year, I had a holiday without my parents for the first time. So I decided, in my wanderlust, that I wanted to backpack around the Baltic Sea solely by train. I ventured through the capitals of Germany, Denmark, Sweden, Finland, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania and Poland, which, I had only travelled to Germany before. I succeeded in Couchsurfing in each city, except for Berlin and Warsaw (due to exhaustion and late arrival), and each experience has been a blast. It is one of the fondest memory I have. So now, I knew immediately to take an adventure again, this time for even longer than the last. My eyes set on Great Britain, having only been in Newcastle-upon-Tyne for an afternoon. In about a month I will stay in 15 cities, visiting (without a layover) at least 2 more, being: London, Cambridge, York, Edinburgh, Inverness (or close-by, rather), Glasgow, Belfast, (Giant's Causeway), Dublin, Killarney (National Park), Cork, Galway, (Cliffs of Moher), Liverpool, Manchester, Oxford and Windsor. I will pass through Dublin and London twice, both receiving an extra night on the second pass-through. I am really excited about this trip!

More on me: I am straightforward, go-with-the-flow, open-minded and an adaptable Dutchman who never lies, nor who knows any taboo, so anything is up for discussion! My life tends to be quite split into different interests and everything seems to have two sides to it, combining two ends of most spectrums. I definitely know a thing or two about any topics you may find interesting, more on that in my interests tab :).

You may find me on my social media (all public):
Instagram: @lex__p
Snapchat: @lex_pl
Discord: @Lex#6882
Facebook: l.plantenga
Email: lexplantenga@gmail.com

You may also go to linktr.ee/lex__p to find the aforementioned and more.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Having some experience now, I can say that locals have your best interests at heart and add to the experience of travelling. Not because they are like hotel servants, but like equals who like to share what they have experienced abroad before, too. I would love to meet more travellers in the United Kingdom and Ireland, for which I am humbled to stay at their homes. Anything goes, whether it is a floor, a mattress, spare bed or the renowned couch, of course :).

Interests

As you might see, I have an insurmountable amount of interests. If the metaphor "Jack of all traits, master of none" were to be personified, you would find me. I find practically everything fascinating. Currently, I am studying physics; as a hobby I write (English) poetry; love to cycle through nature; am a huge geek and can listen and talk for days, while spending time alone is also a favourite pastime. Whatever your interests are, I bet to you I share them and can conversate about them at least to some extend. You may also enjoy that I listen to every genre of music and watch every genre cinema has to offer, anything is on the table :).

  • arts
  • writing
  • poetry
  • design
  • politics
  • trivia
  • traveling
  • music
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • sports
  • biology
  • geography
  • history
  • physics
  • psychology
  • nature
  • linguistics
  • gaming
  • learning new things
  • cinematography
  • debating
  • cubing

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: Believe it or not, I listen to every genre, from classical to EDM, all the way through to heavy metal and blues.

Movies: I adore Harry Potter and the MCU, but my all-time favourites would be Inception and Interstellar. The Father has recently been added to the best films I have seen. Though I practically like every genre of film, too, I prefer not to see overly cliché romcoms/sitcoms or jumpscare horror.

Books: although I haven't read a lot, I really enjoyed The Fifth Science, a hidden gem by the not so well known writer Exurb1a (because he is more well-known for video work). As a teenager, I was also plenty into the Harry Potter, Hunger Games, Divergent, and Maze Runner series. I intend to read more classic literature to learn from big names, as I am a writer of poetry myself.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I am humbled by what I am about to share. But for my Scandinavia tour, the most memorable, picturesque, seemingly being picked freshly from a romance, was right at the start of the trip in Berlin. I had dinner with a fellow traveller and Couchsurf member and walked through Treptower Park. There, we sat down close to a dance group. A couple, unbothered by others or even the music, just had the biggest smile and radiated just the utmost joy being together, twirling around each other as the sun settled. They were really just picked from a feel-good film or the Woodstock Festival, with hippie-looking clothing. That was an otherworldly experience and sparked me into writing a poem bundle all centred around dance, with experiences in each city I visited thereafter.

Teach, Learn, Share

To teach: writing techniques; physics; calculus; debating skills; solving a Rubik's cube or other puzzles; and trivia for days!

To learn: whatever neat thing you have to offer!

To share: plenty of amazing travel stories or experiences from the past; I'd love to share mine, but also hear yours!

What I Can Share with Hosts

We can share stories, explore the city together, you might receive some Dutch treats too ;). I can travel quite tidy and won't leave a mess. I am adaptive to any environment.

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Denmark, Egypt, England, Estonia, France, Germany, Hungary, Indonesia, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Macedonia, Malaysia, Morocco, Poland, Scotland, Spain, Sweden, Thailand, Turkey, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Netherlands

Join Couchsurfing to see Lex’s full profile.

My Groups