Logo orange

Verena Kern

Brussels, Brussels, Belgium

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 4 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Verena's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 9 Positive References1 Neutral
  • Fluent in English, German; learning French, Italian
  • 31, Female
  • Member since 2008
  • Work (8hrs a day), sleep (8hrs a nig...
  • Yes please.
  • From devastatingly beautiful & extremly boring Austrian countryside
  • Profile 90% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

The world is my oyster.

ABOUT ME

Wandering nomad. Eternal optimist.

Currently living in Brussels. After a year here I'm still not sure what to expect (from the city, from myself, from both of us in terms of getting along). Set myself a deadline of staying for 3 years. Deadline changes as often as it rains in this country: very very often.

PHILOSOPHY

A mind is a terrible thing to waste.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I'm a happy host. A random participant. Never a surfer.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

CS seems to be highly addictive. I guess to be a couchsurfer means you can't get stranded no matter where you are. As a host, I'm always excited at the thought that a new friend might be ringing my bell anytime soon. The world is one big colorful couch!

Interests

I have lots of interests yet not that many talents. That is very true for music, sports and gardening. However, I'm a reasonable cook and baker. I'm a good listener and a bad advisor.

Grewing up in the countryside has left some traces. I'm not an outdoor addict but a walk in the woods always makes me happy. If there is a lake around, even better.

I love cinemas, theatres and Nigerian novels, beating my parents in scrabble, swimming outdoors, going to concerts an festivals.

Spicy food, reggae vibes and stormy weather make my day.

Music, Movies & Books

Plenty of all.

music: reggae, afrobeat, soul, funk, world music
dancehall, hiphop, dub. Currently listening excessively to Fat Freddy's Drop.

Movies: about odd+funny people, Austrian movies, movies about Africa, movies about gangsters & hustlers, documentaries and some series (Luther, The Wire, Dexter).

Books: African novels, Scandinavian crime, worldwide fiction, books of photographs.

JR is my favourite artist.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

I love storms with thunder and lightning. Shouldn't necessarily be a life-threatening one, just a heavenly power play best watched with a glass of wine from the couch. Happens every so often but that's the magic. Seeing the same thing everyday would be lame.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can share my home, my ears, my views and some of my grandmother's recipes.

I'd like to learn more French, more Yoga and how to play the Saxophone.

Countries I've Visited

Croatia, Czech Republic, France, Gambia, Greece, Italy, Netherlands, Poland, Romania, Senegal, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Turkey, United Kingdom

Countries I've Lived In

Austria, Belgium, Germany, Switzerland

Join Couchsurfing to see Verena's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile