Liisi Reitalu's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 55% response rate
  • Last login about 2 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Liisi’s full profile.

Overview

  • 42 references 26 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Estonian; learning Italian, Russian, Spanish
  • 33, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • multimedia artist and anthropologist
  • life school + Tartu University, Tartu Art College, Erasmu...
  • From Kärdla, Hiiu County, Estonia
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Build a tinyhouse and travel to Patagonia. And have fun in between!

ABOUT ME

Incurable CouchSurfer! I can't help it that I love people. But I prefer to sit in a cozy spot and have nice long discussions (with tea or beer) rather than running around as a tourist guide. But I do like to walk and show the real local experiences :)

Anyway first I studied to be a media and advertisement artist. Then I worked and traveled around in Europe and discovered the beautiful diversity of inspiring and complementary cultures around us. That brought me back to university to dig deeper into cultural and visual anthropology and now I am doing both - applied anthropolgy and graphic design.

I live in a cosy wooden house in Supilinn with my boyfriend, who runs the local art house cinema (best cinema in Estonia!). So we can give you some tips about movies also ;)

PHILOSOPHY

In my life I follow the principles - respect the nature, honor the wise-men, trust your heart blindly, believe in people, know the roots, ask more questions, don't complain (without reason), really see the life and be here(in the moment)!!!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I have hosted people, surfed around, showed around, taken part in bigger events and local weekly meetings.. is there any other option that I haven't tried yet? :)

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Was there life before CouchSurfing? =D
This is the one and only way to travel!

Interests

people, ART - film art, photography, documentaries, visual anthropology, animating, painting, graphic design etc, cinema, ethnography, folklore, cultures, languages, nature, hiking, walking, sailing, sea, sports, folk music, jazz, cooking, sauna, volunteering :)

  • arts
  • books
  • folklore
  • design
  • graphic design
  • photography
  • documentaries
  • cooking
  • beer
  • running
  • sauna
  • walking
  • boating
  • movies
  • traveling
  • painting
  • music
  • folk music
  • jazz
  • hiking
  • sailing
  • sports
  • anthropology
  • languages
  • volunteering
  • tiny houses
  • art house cinema

Music, Movies, and Books

films: Documentaries!!! Gary Kildea, Ben Rivers, Nishtha Jain, David MacDougall, Werner Herzog, Taika Waititi, Bong Joon-ho, Wes Anderson, Stanley Kubrick, Federico Fellini, Andrei Tarkovsky, Lars von Trier, Richard Linklater, Guy Ritchie, David Lynch, Tarantino movies etc. And animations!
Miyazaki!

TV: Black Books, Black Mirror, Wilfred, Miranda, Lucifer, Living Big in a Tiny House, TED talks etc

books: Michael Ende, Clifford Geertz, David MacDougall, Sarah Pink, Arundhati Roy, Dostojevski, J.R.R Tolkien, Jane Austen, George Bernard Shaw, Tove Jannson, Ray Bradbury, A. Kivirähk etc.

music: Lou Reed, David Bowie, Ewert and the Two Dragons, Nina Simone, Metsatöll, Kosmikud, Kings of Leon, Moby, Emiliana Torrini, Faithless, Pixies, Nirvana, Radiohead, Talking Head etc.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Sailed around with the Viking boat!
I've been naked on the rain - it is the most natural feeling I have experienced!

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach:
*Estonian,
*orienteering,
*animating,
*some local urban legends
*how to cook a good meal, when you don't have almost anything in the fridge,
*some Estonian jokes..
*how to survive in Estonia

I want to study:
*cultures and folklore
*building
*one music instrument
*Spanish, Italian (all languages actually)
*how to whistle
*time-traveling

If you know anything interesting that I don't know - I want to learn it! :)
And on the other hand I can share all my experiences and knowledge that you find interesting.

I believe that we are all destined to meet, to teach something to each-other in this life.

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Egypt, Finland, France, Kosovo, Latvia, Lithuania, Macedonia, Malta, Montenegro, Netherlands, Portugal, Russian Federation, Serbia, Spain, Sweden

Countries I’ve Lived In

Estonia, Slovenia, Spain

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    8 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Liisi’s full profile.

My Groups