Lily Panych's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 27 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Lily’s full profile.

Overview

  • 27 references 17 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Italian, Spanish, Ukrainian
  • 31, Female
  • Member since 2014
  • Construction/Urban Agriculture
  • CUNY Hunter
  • From Albany, NY, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

My name is Lily, 29, I live in NYC, USA and work as an urban farmer there. I happen to be just another one of those crazy happy people who have fallen in love with travel and life on the road. Lack of long-term routine is my joy. I hope to help others to see that now, in 2020, its more important than ever to backpack!

I traveled Europe and India for 10.5 months in 2016 and 2017, and made friends for a lifetime. In 2018 I explored Colombia, Ecuador, and Peru for two months and had the time of my life. 2019 found me traveling India again for 2 months, cycling and backpacking the northern regions. In 2020 I escaped for several weeks to the beautiful Phillipines!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Looking for adventure, I have couchsurfed in Spain, Italy, Greece, Ukraine, Georgia, Armenia, India, Ecuador, Peru, and the east coast of the USA. I have hosted travelers several times at my apartment in NYC, people from Germany, Israel, and India. I'm fond of attending meet-ups.

Interests

-sampling the strangest item on the menu
-exploring our urban and natural environments by foot or bike.
-working with my hands - I'm not afraid of getting a little dirty!
-Music, of course!! Although I likely have the musical tastes of your grandfather.
-NYC history and geography

  • architecture
  • wine
  • world music
  • hiking
  • swimming
  • geography
  • historic sites
  • urban exploration
  • jogging
  • swimming holes
  • healthy food
  • urban planning
  • disco music
  • foreign films
  • flaneur
  • musuems

Music, Movies, and Books

MUSIC:
-I like lots of world music, new age, new wave, disco (Sylvester, Donna Summers); funk (gap band, James brown), soul (bill withers), jazz (Nina Simone), classic American Rock (10cc), classic British rock (David Bowie, supertramp), classic hip-hop and rap of course
-I'm rather obsessed with classic Italian music, such as Mina, Milva, Franco Battiato
-la touche français music!
-klezmer and brass bands
-classic 90s trance and techno
-classic American divas who sing the "standards" (Barbara Streisand)

MOVIES:
-I like old movies, such as French New Wave Cinema, a lot!

BOOKS:
-the classics (siddhartha by Herman Hesse is my favorite)
-I also like books that feature a geographic place almost as another character (such as NYC in Tom Wolfe's "bonfire of the vanities")

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

-Cycle touring in the northeast of India
-Drilling out cave rooms in Spain
-Leading cliff jumping tours in India
-Taking care of Carpathian water buffaloes in Ukraine
-Hitchhiking from Greece to Ukraine

Teach, Learn, Share

TEACH:
-English language/American slang
-American culture/music interests
-we can make fun of trump together
-construction skills!!
-workout coaching (I'll be your running buddy and you can laugh at me when I slip and fall)

LEARN:
-European languages (especially Spanish and Italian)
-gardening/farming

SHARE:
-a drink, my best healthy salad recipes, my expert playlists, my plumbing skills
-I LOVE my hometown of New York and consider myself an expert on everything there is to know about that city. Ask me anything!
-I’m a big history nerd in general, If this is something that would interest you I know we will hit it off!

Countries I’ve Visited

Armenia, Bulgaria, Canada, Colombia, Ecuador, England, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Iceland, India, Israel, Italy, Mexico, Peru, Poland, Romania, Spain, Ukraine, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Lily’s full profile.