Ophelia Wang

Jakarta, Jakarta Special Capital Region (Java), Indonesia

Accepting Guests

  • 70% response rate
  • Last login 2 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Ophelia’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Fluent in Chinese, English; learning Indonesian, Spanish
  • 37, Female
  • Member since 2007
  • Consultant in Landscape Ecology & Conservation Biology
  • BS in Botany, MS in Ecology, MA in Latin American Studies...
  • From Taipei, Taiwan
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Making travels part of what I must do for work.


I have an international background: from Asia, studied in USA, did my research in Latin America and SE Asia, and now living in SE Asia. I got my undergraduate degree in botany in Taiwan, graduate degrees in ecology and Latin American studies in Illinois, moved to Austin for my PhD in Geography, received a certificate in nonprofit business management in Chicago, and worked as a postdoc in Flagstaff. I'm beginning a new career and life path in Indonesia.

Ophelia Wang | Create Your Badge
Conservation Leadership Initiation PracticumPromote Your Page Too

visited 23 states (10.2%)Create your own visited map of The World or Amsterdam travel guide for Android


I always believe that we should work to live, not live to work. And I live to work hard, play hard and think hard!

Create your own travel map or travel blog.
Find vacation rentals at TripAdvisor

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


When I lived in Austin I participated in various Austin CS get-together activities and I sometimes organized events. I hosted very often since I lived near downtown Austin and central Flagstaff. When I travel, I try to stay with local couchsurfers for as much as possible.


Yes, I began hosting and couchsurfing in summer 2007. I for sure will continue hosting and surfing wherever I live and travel to!


I love Latin dance (especially salsa and Argentine tango), traveling, cooking and tasting various cuisines, reading, playing some piano, listening to music (classical, world, jazz, etc.), film (mostly international and art film), yoga, backpacking/hiking, and language learning. It'd be great to enjoy both adventurous and intellectual activities with someone, and share thoughts about life together. I've also tried aerial silk/yoga and capoeira and would love to do more on both. I also enjoy sitting in a cafe with or without friends, just to relax and think about what other fun things I can do in town.

Music, Movies, and Books

Too many on the list---

Classical, jazz, world, dance, etc.

Art film, independent, international, etc.

Books by Gabriel Marquez, Isabel Allende, Paulo Coelho, The Little Prince, etc.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I've hosted people from various countries and have made great friends with some of my hosts/surfers. Actually my husband and I met through CS from Flagstaff's local group. We still owe CS a story of us.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can show you some Latin dance moves (salsa, merengue,bachata, cha-cha, Argentine tango), a little piano playing, some Chinese learning, Asian food cooking, and lots of stories of working in the tropical forests in Latin America and SE Asia, especially my work in the Amazon.

What I Can Share with Hosts

In addition to everything I've mentioned in my profile, I can share my new must-do list for my visitors to Jakarta: Pasar Santa, Pasar Antik, Taman Wisata Alam Mangrove, Muara Ankre, Taman Mini, Museum Tekstil, Skye Bar, Santika Baru street side seafood, massage at home service, Kota Tua, Sunda Kelapa, souvenir shopping at Bintara, TransJakarta ride along Koridor 1, and ojek rides in town.

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Brazil, Cambodia, Canada, China, Costa Rica, Ecuador, France, Guatemala, Italy, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, Myanmar, Nicaragua, Panama, Peru, Singapore, South Korea, Switzerland, Thailand, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Indonesia, Taiwan, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    13 Vouches
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Ophelia’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups