Logo orange

Lorna Lewis

Austin, TX, United States

Not Accepting Guests

100% response rate · Last login 4 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Lorna's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 15 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning Italian, Spanish
  • 50, Female
  • Member since 2005
  • Marketing/Sales
  • MBA in Tourism Marketing,
  • From Port Antonio, Portland Parish, Jamaica
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To gradually, slowly but surely, visit every remarkable place in the world

ABOUT ME

I am a very friendly and open person. I'd like to consider myself a true citizen of the world. I enjoy meeting people from all backgrounds. I am a big tourist. I like to learn the history and culture of anywhere I visit. I spent the first twenty years in a career as a Veterinary Technician. I went back to school earning a degree in Marketing/Tourism and International Management. I just completed my MBA. I don't drink, smoke or party. I am a Christian. I love water. That means I love to be around the water. I have in the past enjoyed Scuba Diving and Sailing. I used to run many marathons. Right now I am not in shape after some health problems. But, hope to get back to doing it one day after regaining my fitness. I love museums and libraries, so I think I am considered somewhat of a nerd. Although I am an American and have been for almost thirty years, I was born in Jamaica and still consider myself one. I enjoy reading and listening to audiobooks. I enjoy the classics. Tolstoy is a favorite of mine. When I travel, I love to meet local people, stay with them or stay in hostels.

PHILOSOPHY

Live life to the fullest. Your days are already laid out in God's Plan.
(Jeremiah 29:11)

Carpe Diem!

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I host travelers and participate in local couch-surfing events

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

visited 24 states (10.6%)Create your own visited map of The World
Well, I've hosted quite a few folks and have been hosted a time or two. Always a pleasureable experience. I definitely prefer couch surfing to staying at a hotel any day.

Interests

People, Reading, Writing, Travel, Sports (Basketball, Football, Soccer, Tennis etc...)- Spectator only. I'm back to marathon training! I'm slow as a turtle, but I'm making progress and will run the Chicago Marathon, Marine Corps Marathon and the NYC marathons...all this fall of 2015 within a month!. I decided to go big in celebrating my 50th year of life...so, if I survive it, I should be in amazing shape :-) I really enjoy attending live events such as the Theater, and live musical events (SXSW, ACL, Bonnaroo, Coachella). I am a big fan of contemporary Christian music and I always listen to www.klove.com check it out. I just went to their annual fan awards in Nashville, TN and I went on the Klove Cruise in 2014.

Music, Movies & Books

The Scarlet Pimpernel,
Contemporary Christian Music, For King and Country, Toby Mac, Casting Crowns, Newsboys, Mandisa, Third Day, Brandon Heath, Steven Curtis Chapman, Michael W. Smith. Popular music; Adele,80's music, Simon and Garfunkel, Bruno Mars
Russian Authors- Tolstoy, Dostoevsky, Jane Austen- Pride and Predjudice, Sense and Sensibility,

One Amazing Thing I've Done

I Ran nine marathons in one year (1999)
I ran Berlin, Paris, Rome, Florence, Venice, Carpi, (Italy )Monaco, Monterrey (Mexico), Dallas, (TX),

Teach, Learn, Share

Well, just my experiences of the many places I've visited.

What I Can Share With Hosts

My experience.

Countries I've Visited

Austria, Belgium, Canada, Cayman Islands, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Honduras, Hungary, Ireland, Japan, Liechtenstein, Mexico, Monaco, Morocco, Netherlands, Norway, Scotland, Singapore, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, Uganda, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, Wales

Countries I've Lived In

Italy, Jamaica, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Lorna's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile