Martin Wilkins's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login over 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Martin’s full profile.


  • 1 reference
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 55, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • Bicycle Mechanic
  • Motor Engineer
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 90% complete

About Me


Visiting Murcia Spain. Looking to meetup, coffee, cycling (MTB) and hiking

Working/exploring southern France. (I am in the small village of Cruzy in the Hérault department in southern France. West from Béziers & Capestang)

Just returned from 3 months having a blast travelling across Spain.

Southern Spain 2017 (Micro Adventure)
The aim is to cycle trail's and visit small towns without using Supermarkets. From my converted campervan.
Also volunteering at eco/organic farms (WWOOF & Workaway projects) See my Blog Posts:-

Then who knows, possibly return to Colombia.......................................

Also, contribute to consuming less and do more of what I enjoy every day


I like to escape too far away places, to discover different cultures, history, local food and meet the locals. I am attracted to Latin America, in particular for its food and the connections with it, the farmers who grow the food, the market stalls, the street stalls and mothers/wife's who cook with love for their families.
I am not a vegetarian, but I am slowly eating less meat, in favour of more fresh local organic fruit and vegetables.

I have many, photography, video-making, walking/hiking, reading, gardening

Lost Traditions:
My dream is to build a hostel/retreat, where I can share, learn many new things, be more Eco-friendly and continue to meet people from around the world.


Nothing ventured nothing gained.
I take calculated risks to do the things in life I enjoy, that means being out of my comfort - zone and always pays off by having great experiences.
Treat people how you like to be treated, share knowledge/interests
I do sometimes go on about food! But to me is life and the best way to socialise.
I also live a simple life, as less is so much more.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Always up for an adventure and to explore new places.
I have yet to do a big tour by bike. Anyone can twist my arm and let's go...?
The idea would be to make a bit of a documentary while on the road and at local communities as stopping/passing. I would like to include teaching basic bike mechanics to the young.
I always like to chat, meet like minded people, share and learn new things.
For me the trip is not complete, unless you share it with someone.


I am of the mind; when I visit a new place, I want to feel that I am really there, live it a little bit like a local. Wander around and feel I am discovering the country for the first time.

Exploring, Food, music, photography, cycling, keeping fit, eating healthy and cooking

  • photography
  • dining
  • cooking
  • coffee
  • walking
  • socializing
  • music
  • cycling
  • surfing
  • history
  • rivers
  • mountains
  • recycle

Music, Movies, and Books

Latin, Reggae anything to chill out to
The worlds fastest Indian, motor cycle diaries,

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Backpacked with my daughter to Cuba, Mexico and Guatemala.

Teach, Learn, Share

Cooking, bicycle repairs

What I Can Share with Hosts

Coffee & chat............... I am tidy and can cook and help around the house.
Happy to share my handyman skills on a Eco friendly building project, including gardening, general building work/carpentry. I also have a love with bicycles and have spent many years of fixing them.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Barbados, Bolivia, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cuba, Fiji, France, Guatemala, Honduras, Italy, Jamaica, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Panama, Peru, Portugal, Romania, Singapore, Spain, Thailand, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Colombia, Spain, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Martin’s full profile.

My Groups