Luca Boccia's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 20% response rate
  • Last login about 5 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Luca’s full profile.

Overview

  • 76 references 21 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Italian; learning English, French
  • 55, Male
  • Member since 2007
  • journalist, sort of
  • polite, usually
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

* * * LATEST NEWS * * *
Sorry, we are hosting very little these days! Last summer I had time enough, but not enough health - then I started working again and have no time at all...

GENERAL NEWS

Hey, welcome me back.
After a long stand-by, I am slowly hosting - and hopefully being hosted - again!

What's new? Apart from my growing belly? I moved in with my girlfriend (Ibisco Bianco in CS) to another flat - well, just upstairs, actually. And I do not do the nightshift any more, but still usually work until late in the evening.

There is still just ONE bed for guests. It is a small folding bed in the living room, so not much confort nor privacy, sorry. Please consider it when asking for hospitality. This also means we might not be in the mood for hosting, do not blame us.

I still have my bad opinion about the way CS has changed during the last years, shifting towards large member numbers and profits while forgetting about hospitality and cultural exchange.
But while waiting for Veit Kuhne to rebuild Hospitality Club from the scratch, as he promised, let's try and get the best from what we have now.

-------------------------------------------------------

Hospitality exchange is a wonderful idea: being a guest allows you to go much deeper into the place you visit, hosting presents you with another different and often surprising look to your own homeplace. Both ways, you have the chance to meet interesting people and often new friends, and I'm very happy about local openminded communities growing around these grounds.

I love sharing my time with people from other countries, have fun and mix cultures - an orgy of different points of view is a great thing, once you consider differences as an opportunity of pleasure and mutual improvement.

Beware: I will never discriminate my guests (or hosts) based on race, gender, religion or sexual preference. I might discriminate on politics, though.

PHILOSOPHY
Trying to quit. But got good marks back then at high school.
Uhm, seriously now. Well, I wouldn't describe myself as an always easy-going person: I used to be, but age (according to CS statistics, there is a 70% chance I'm old enough to be your father) took its share of energies. I like my privacy, too, and my poor precious time to rest and be on my own.
But I survived myself, and you will as well (come on, you'll have to suffer me for a short amount of time, while I've been in my own company all my life).

I'll always love to meet nice people who have something to share and are willing to communicate, compare and mix cultures and experiences. Although a bit shy, I like to think I could be described as an open-minded person, eager to learn from others, understand social and cultural issues, fight for equality and against every kind of oppression, defend nature... and all this kind of out-of-date stuff.
I see differences as opportunities, feel open to all ways to enjoy life, respect any lifestyle and sexual attitude. I'm not religious at all, but will probably get along with your religious ideals, if you won't be trying to force me in (well, problems might arise with any fanatic belief). I've been working with peace and environmental organizations, and always gave my vote to the italian left: yes, apparently it didn't help very much, did it?

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

This seems to be the right place for some logistical boundaries: potential guests, please read them carefully.

I live together with my girlfriend and we cannot host more than ONE person at a time, as the flat is pretty small and has only ONE folding bed in the living room. This means poor privacy level and no luxuries.

Working till late in the evening, I will probably have little time to spend with guests.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Joined HC in 2004, then CS in 2007. I could never go back to ordinary "hotel" trips! (BUT I've also rented fine country houses overlooking a blue sea in places such as Formentera or Pantelleria: mmmmmhhh, do I have to add why I do not miss HC/CS in this kind of places?)...

Interests

The world and its derivates, plus my own very private businesses. For example, sleeping.
Yes, sorry, I love sleeping a lot, especially during daytime. Sometimes I seem to be sleeping while talking and working, but that's another problem. Then, I'm interested in literature, media, politics... I'm into nature, cinema, music, scuba diving, travels (of course), cooking (sure!)... then eating (a lot), drinking (why not), partying, knowing people... romance and sex (expert of the solo version of both)... making mistakes... ok, I'll update the list after a nap.

  • cooking
  • partying
  • drinking
  • politics
  • news
  • movies
  • traveling
  • music
  • scuba diving
  • communications
  • talking
  • playing
  • seaside
  • girls
  • browsing cities

Music, Movies, and Books

Yes, a lot. If I wanted to list "my" books, movies and music, I should take holidays to have time enough and fill this space

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Oh, some sad news: I stopped smoking, and developed a fat belly instead. Then I started smoking again, the belly is still there, and I'm more nervous than before. WTF.
Anyway, I had to stop smoking again following a sudden medical issue, last summer, and it seems this is it. Hopefully.

Teach, Learn, Share

Among the three? Share, definitely.
Try saying: "happiness is only real when taught", or "happiness is only real when learnt". No, see, it doesn't work.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Apart from my unmissable company? Eheh... Maybe some italian cooking?

Countries I’ve Visited

Italy

Countries I’ve Lived In

Italy

Old School Badges

  • 34 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Luca’s full profile.

My Groups