Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 8 minutes ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Lucas’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 11 References 6 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, Spanish; learning French, German, Spanish, Swahili
  • 26, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • Software Developer
  • Middlebury College 2012.5
  • From Canaan, NY, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

ABOUT ME

I am the middle child in a five member family. I grew up on a farm in upstate New York, in an intentional community. My father grew up in Ecuador and my mother comes from an old Quaker family, so those cultures have had a strong influence on me throughout my life. 80% of the time, I am excited to meet strangers and have any kind of adventure. The rest of the time I enjoy silence, solitude, routine and reflection.

I'm a legal citizen of three countries–€œ Costa Rica because I was born there, the United States because I live there, and Germany because my grandfather immigrated from there–€œ but the allegiance I really value is my global citizenship!

PHILOSOPHY

I strive to live non-violently, simply, and with integrity. I value community very highly because being in community keeps me happy and makes me a better person. I think you have to enjoy life, but you also have to take responsibility for your lifestyle and care for your environment.

I can find something I really like in anyone, and often I don't have to look that hard if I'm just open to it.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I thoroughly enjoy hosting and being hosted, and I've been to a couple meetups too.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I have tumbled upon the most wonderful and generous hosts imaginable in my travels. Different couches have yielded lasting friendships, deep happiness, and changes in my personal philosophy. What more could one ask for?

Interests

  • architecture
  • environment
  • cooking
  • running
  • technology
  • team sports
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • canoeing
  • camping
  • sports
  • basketball
  • soccer
  • lacrosse
  • ecology
  • geography
  • languages
  • law

Music, Movies, and Books

I like electronic music, drums, and most anything with a catchy beat. Some recent examples: Banditos, Ratatat, Buddha Bar, Milkman, Daft Punk, Man Man.

I don't watch many movies, so I usually enjoy them when I do. Recently I enjoyed Castle in the Sky by Miyazaki.

Some of my favorite books are field guides and atlases. I also love any book that tells a good story, but I don't read nearly as much as I would like to.

Teach, Learn, Share

I enjoy teaching people about bicycles, computers, living in the wilderness, and Quakerism.

I love learning about language! I would like to learn how to be a better cook and better gardener.

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, Costa Rica, Ecuador, Egypt, France, Germany, Israel, Italy, Kenya, Liechtenstein, Mexico, Palestine, Spain, Switzerland

Countries I’ve Lived In

Costa Rica, Ecuador, France, Germany, United States

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Lucas’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups