Lu Görlach's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 23 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Lu’s full profile.

Overview

  • 47 references 33 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German, Indonesian, Malay; learning French
  • 30, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • Student of life, survival artist, Passante, child, food e...
  • studied Art/ Germanistics, Psychology, Education,Southeas...
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Once I stayed in a place, it will be home forever. So please feel free to ask advice about all my current and past homes ;)
- Penang, Malaysia
- Bandung, Indonesia
- Yogyakarta, Indonesia
- Weimar, Germany
- Berlin, Germany
- Istanbul, Turkey
- Waren, Germany

UPDATE
currently based in Waren/ Müritz (Germany)

CURRENT MISSION

Explore the world! (well, basically it's all about food...)

ABOUT ME

I am something between Bokowski and Rumi. I curse a lot and I meditate. I am very active but also can spend a day without moving as long as I have a good book and my drawing stuff. I love the sea and the mountains; as long as it is windy there. I sometimes don't talk much and am lost inside my head, but I can be a social butterfly as well. You just find out ;)
Oh ya, I smoke, but only at night (and that's crucial and almost sacred!), I don't drink alcohol, but I love to dance and go to pubs; I usually don't eat meat,except it's halal.

PHILOSOPHY

When you really pay attention, everything is your teacher.
Mindfulness is key.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

When traveling the world I want to go fully in, so I am always couchsurfing. I love staying with families and taking care of their children, helping people with their business, following kind invitations to local events and staying in touch with my hosts afterwards. I am always trying to make friends with my hosts since I really appreciate their efforts. Hence, I have the most beautiful friends from all around the world :)

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

At my place,I had only very nice and friendly couchsurfers so far. I always feel sorry in case I am too busy to hang out with them all the time. But I try to give them the best impression of my city as possible.
And when I was c-surfing, it has always been a blast. That includes everything between illegal underground-parties in Islamic regimes to philosophical conversations all night long over mango juice in the desert.

As I am living the dream of every 20-something and moved back to my parents' place, I can't host anyone. BUT I can still give advice about this and that, so feel free to hit me a message anyway.

Interests

I like to be exposed to new situations. Routine is what kills my spirit and I can't stay in one place for too long. There are only a few things that build the frame of my life:
Vietnamese coffee every morning
Indonesian kretek cigarettes every night
Good food, meditation and deep conversations

  • arts
  • culture
  • books
  • running
  • traveling
  • drawing
  • music
  • teaching
  • languages
  • psychology
  • food

Music, Movies, and Books

Wallah, I have no clue about movies. I just never watch them. So please forgive me if I don't understand your movie-quote-jokes. I don't have a TV, never had and probably won't ever. Oh, but Captain Fantastic and Fight Club are great!

I enjoy reading all types of literature and I am reading A LOT! So once you message me and there is a book you have been really impressed by, share it with me! My favourites: Milan Kundera "The unbearable lightness of being", Elif Shafak "40 Rules of Love", Eichendorff "Aus dem Leben eines Taugenichts", Fanny zu Reventlow "Von Paul zu Pedro"(<3)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Every day of my life is pretty amazing actually. Before I go to sleep I make sure that it was a good day.

Teach, Learn, Share

It would be great to improve my language skills! (I honestly don't care which language in particular. Just teach me some funny words and I'm the happiest person ever!)
I can only offer teaching some German and English and Indonesian/Malay.
I can offer incredible amazement for small details and big complexities.
I can offer interest in everything you tell me, as long as you are honest and tell it with authenticity.

What I Can Share with Hosts

A smile, some dirty jokes, more or less entertaining stories.
I don't mind helping you at work, being your company to an event of any kind, taking care of your children, teaching English and German to whoever is eager to learn, discuss about world policies or the latest rice harvest.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Cambodia, China, Czech Republic, Denmark, Egypt, Finland, France, Georgia, Indonesia, Iran, Italy, Laos, Latvia, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Myanmar, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Singapore, Slovakia, South Africa, Spain, Thailand, Tunisia, Turkey, United Kingdom, Vatican City State, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, Indonesia, Malaysia, Turkey, Viet Nam

Join Couchsurfing to see Lu’s full profile.

My Groups