Sanne Velthuis's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 75% response rate
  • Last login about 7 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Sanne’s full profile.

Overview

  • 88 references 81 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Dutch, English; learning French, German, Spanish
  • 34, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • Preferably reading, exploring, creating and enjoying beau...
  • Majored in psychology
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Update Aug. 2021: Hosting again, and fully vaccinated (2x Pfizer)!

----------

CURRENT MISSION

Getting to know as much of the world as possible, enjoy the company of the people who inhabit it, and do some good along the way.

ABOUT ME

In my mind, I have travelled around the whole world, but due to limited money and days off work, that's not how it is in reality. That's why, while I'm at home in The Hague, I love to travel the world in my own living room, by reading books, sending postcards to places all over the world, and hosting travellers!
I'm very interested in other people and you will usually find me listening more than talking. I may be a bit shy in the beginning, but nevertheless I like to have people around! It just takes a while for me to warm up sometimes.
I grew up in different places and towns in the Netherlands, both rural and urban areas and I think every place has its charms. I love the nature of rural areas and the cultural sightseeing you can do in the cities.

PHILOSOPHY

Wie het kleine niet eert, is het grote niet weerd. (Who doesn't appreciate the small things, doesn't deserve the big ones.) It's just nice to get your happiness out of small things, such as a good meal, a friendly person, or a nice postcard.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Generally as a host. Occasionally surfing. And very very rarely, attending CS events.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Up to now, I have met so many nice, extraordinary and inspiring people!
I've been hosting many people in the last few years, and loved every bit of it. To keep making sure that people choose my place to stay, because they are interested in me as a person, I've hidden a password somewhere on my profile. Please mention that password in your request! (I get a lot of those - it actually scares me a little. The password helps me to make a selection...)

Interests

Other people's lives and travels, books, music, history, politics, science, photography, hiking... and many other subjects I can't think of right now. For me, the problem is being interested in too many things, rather than not interested at all, but there's not enough time to explore all of them.

So if you happen to know an awful lot about a particular subject, and want to share it with me, you're more than welcome.

  • dogs
  • writing
  • books
  • photography
  • dancing
  • desserts
  • baking
  • triathlon
  • running
  • politics
  • reading
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • knitting
  • music
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • camping
  • swimming
  • history
  • psychology
  • science
  • sightseeing
  • dinosaurs
  • palaeontology

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: quite a bit. Rock, symphonic/gothic/power metal, folk, some jazz, singer-songwriter. Love to listen to old vinyl records. Also: https://www.last.fm/user/sanne_87.
Books: old and new, fiction and non-fiction. Fiction: literature, some fantasy and sci-fi. Non-fiction: psychology, travelling, history, law, science. Lifelong fan of the Harry Potter novels.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Just look at my profile picture :). That was a pretty amazing place to stand, especially when one is a little bit afraid of heights (but who isn't?)...

Also: visiting Mt. Everest Base Camp, climbing Kilimanjaro (and reaching the summit), standing within 10 m distance of a rhinoceros, only separated from me by a tiny bit of barbed wire, seeing aurora borealis, cruising through a desolate, snowy landscape on a sledge pulled by half a dozen dogs, running a half marathon on Spitsbergen (and full ones in Rotterdam and Athens)... and I hope I will be able to add many more things to this list.
Up next: running a 50km ultramarathon to raise money for the Ronald McDonald Foundation! (They provide cheap lodging for parents whose children are in hospital. See: https://www.starteenactie.nl/acties/50kmvoor50nachtjes)

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you...
...how to knit Christmas balls
...European folk dances
...the basics of the Dutch language

As if anyone would need to learn something like that. ;-)
I've got some useful skills as well though...

What I Can Share with Hosts

The ability to make great desserts.
My friends and I like to organise "dessert buffets" every few months, and that has made me kind of creative... so I'd love to surprise a host with one of my favourite cakes or puddings!

Countries I’ve Visited

Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Faroe Islands, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Lesotho, Luxembourg, Morocco, Nepal, Norway, Peru, Slovakia, South Africa, Spain, Svalbard and Jan Mayen, Swaziland, Sweden, Switzerland, Tanzania, United Kingdom, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

Netherlands

Join Couchsurfing to see Sanne’s full profile.

My Groups